We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Host”
Review of The Merginn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Merginn
Ranked #379 of 857 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Host”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Merginn, very friendly welcome and was offered tea/coffee on arrival. Excellent value for money nice clean room, lovely and warm and plently of hot water with clean towels each day, excellent breakfast. Made to feel very welcome and Steve was the perfect host and nothing was a problem for him. The location for us was perfect and would not hesitate to go back.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
52
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

hi would like to say we had a very nice stay at this b&b they were very helpful,would recommend it

neal and sandra aka shirley lol

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

just got back from The Merginn for a 2 night break, absolutely faultless accomodation, exceptionally clean, beds very comfy, what else can i say, oh yes breakfast superb! Lovely hosts, outstanding value for money, thank you stephen and dawn. Will be back. Tony and shirley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here waaay back in February for 2 nights and it was..well...alright i supose! The couple who own the Merginn were nice, the room was clean and comfortable! Parking is avaliable at the back of the building as on street is a bit tight! Breakfast was ok aswell.....im struggeling here because the Merginn just didnt stand out atall! well apart from Steve knocking at the door at 11;55am on the morning that we were leaving to '"remind" us that checkout was at 12.........!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strawberryBlackpool, Owner at The Merginn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your review Calvin. You "must" have a very good memory, as it has taken nearly a year for this review to go on!!!
As it was Valentines weekend we always bend our rules and give a late checkout. Our normal check out is 10.30am, but for this weekend we gave an extra hour. So therefore checkout was "11.30". As you had not appeared at this time, Steve gave a gentle tap on your door to remind you. We had guests arriving for that room at 1pm., so needed to turn the room around quickly.
We do try to be flexible where ever possible, but can't understand why we were critisied and down marked and this review site.
We note you marked us down for location too, but unfortunately we cant move where we are, and most guests appreciate that we are located in the quieter North Shore area of Blackpool rather than hustle and bustle of the town centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

very nice welcome from dawn and steve on arrival rooms clean and spotless very comfy beds food excellent steve even helped us get our car back on the road they will go out of there way to help

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.3 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#309 of 857 in Blackpool
119 reviews
3.0 km away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#218 of 857 in Blackpool
131 reviews
3.7 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#247 of 857 in Blackpool
146 reviews
4.8 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Property: The Merginn
Address: 9 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 857 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): $61 - $130
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merginn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Merginn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing