We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
106
72
25
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
72
25
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackpool promotions free transport tickets staying regularly limited car parking council car park one night seaside town check in was smooth booked this hotel last minute wee break free entertainment dining staff night time entertainment transport links super hotel both breakfast and dinner building work
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed at the Ruskin Hotel in August, we booked a standard room including breakfast, we paid extra for the onsite secure parking garage. We almost didn’t book the hotel due to the room sizes, we started to look around but there were 2 reasons for booking the Ruskin hotel, the location and the secure parking. I have an expensive car (that has already been damaged once when parked outside) that is kept in a garage every night and I didn’t want to leave it in a public parking space or on the road so this was a major factor in the decision.
We arrived at the hotel around 2.30, we were advised our room was available which was a bonus, however there was a problem with their booking system and the garage parking wasn’t available. We were advised that we would need to park in a public car park, but the hotel would pay for it. Don’t get me wrong this was a nice gesture that the hotel didn’t have to do, but having a secure place for my car was more important than having my car parking paid for. The hotel did live up to that and did indeed pay £10 per night for my parking.
We unloaded the car and parked in the Winter Gardens car park a few minutes away, one other problem with paid parking is that you could only pay for 24 hours so we would need to come back 24 hours later and pay again. Not only did this stop us from going out for the complete day we would need to come back at the right time to pay again.
The hotel room was very small, I would say one of the smallest I have ever stayed in. It was old and tired and in need of decoration. The bathroom looked reasonably new and was very nice, the shower rail was very loose though.
We had breakfast included and this was a standard hot/cold buffet, this was very nice although it would have been nice to have croissants available.
We used the bar facilities and prices were very reasonable, we weren’t really interested in the cabaret singing or the bingo, but this did fill up the bar so must have been popular with other guests.
Overall a pleasant stay, if I did stay again I would choose a premier room but there wasn’t any available when I booked.
All staff were pleasant and helpful but the garage for me was very important otherwise it would have got a very good review.

Room Tip: If you book parking, call the hotel to check it's available.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IanVicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Hotel and room was lovely and situated in an excellent place just behind the tower. Definitely would stay there again. Very well priced for what you get. The only complaint I have is the price of parking at the back of the hotel was very pricey.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Maureen,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday whilst visiting the Gin Festival. Being located just 3 minutes away from the Winter Gardens, our location is perfect for the many excellent shows and attractions nearby.

In reference to parking - our onsite garages offer a very secure and convenient solution when staying at the hotel as parking is extremely limited in the Town centre, there are other options nearby however such as the pay and display car park 5 minutes away from the hotel at the top of Cookson street.

We do hope you will visit us again in the near future, from myself and the team

Best wishes and thank you once again for the review

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the Royal Ruskin between 30July and 3 August for a short break through Blackpool Promotions for the second year. Hotel is in a central location on Albert Road and is perfect for shopping or transport links. Hotel room 121 was clean and toilet/shower area looks to have been recently renovated, room on the small side but adequate, towels were changed daily. Food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner and dining staff were all very pleasant and efficient . The lounge for drinks was very reasonable priced, and free entertainment at night was good. Free transport tickets given daily from reception if you are with Blackpool Promotions. Hotel is undergoing renovations and expansion currently and I am sure once completed will only enhance the guests experience. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review on your recent holiday.

We are delighted you had a fabulous holiday with us and that you found your room to be very clean and comfortable, we do have fantastic premier rooms available at the hotel for a small supplement which offer a little more luxury for a small supplement - these may be something to consider for your next stay with us?

Being located directly in the town centre our location is great and perfect for those looking to be close to Blackpool's many great attractions and shops! We're pleased you found it to be ideal.

Thank you for the kind words on our food, the excellent service and superb food are two of the many great reasons why the Royal Ruskin is so popular, so it is brilliant you enjoyed and that our friendly team made you feel so welcome.

We're also very happy you got to see some of the excellent live entertainment on offer here at the hotel as we provide some of the best live cabaret in Blackpool.

Our expansion - once complete will add 30 new Premier rooms along with sensual spa and large new cabaret lounge which will be amazing, we are all very excited for the grand opening at the end of Summer.

Please do come and visit us again in the future, all the very best from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

My wife and I have just come back from another long weekend at the Ruskin, the last time we were here the Cabaret was by the side of the bar at street level. The first afternoon I asked the barman what the entertainment was that night and he rightly said that there were a couple of singers and two or three sessions of Bingo. We came back to the hotel after having a meal out only to find that there was no entertainment on, until that is my wife asked some else who said it was down stairs, unfortunately we had missed the first session of Bingo but were in time for the singers, maybe the barman could pass this info on when asked about it. Anyway back to the hotel, our room like everyone's was very warm due to the heatwave, however the hotel has supplied two fans that can be positioned wherever you think best, the room was quite large and the bathroom was clean and tidy, even though the shower was a bit on the small side. There is plenty of drawer space and hangers, the bed was comfortable and the side lighting was very good. The breakfast is brilliant, everything you could wish for and good quality, also the staff are very attentive but not intrusive, we will return.

Room Tip: Take pot luck.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Benidorm88,

Thank you for the fabulous review.

Overall we are thrilled you had such an enjoyable holiday with us at the Royal Ruskin Hotel,

We are sorry there was a little confusion as to the location of our entertainment, this is usually displayed in our reception area with the nightly itinerary of what is going on.

We are pleased you were comfortable in your room, due to the very mild temperatures recently we do understand it can get very warm in guest bedrooms however it's great our friendly team allocated 2 fans for your room to help combat the heat.
It's also really great to hear you found the room to be extremely clean and very spacious, we do have superb Premier rooms which are now available to book which offer a little more luxury for a small supplement - these may be something to consider for a future holiday with us.

Thank you for the very kind comments on our breakfast and staff, the Royal Ruskin prides itself on wonderful cuisine and excellent service with a smile - two of the many great reasons why the hotel is so popular with returning guests - so we are delighted you enjoyed the food on offer.

All in all it is fabulous you had a great time with us and it's great you will be returning in the future so we will look forward to welcoming you on your next trip,

Best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We have been staying regularly at The Ruskin for around 20 years and we have always very satisfies with the staff, meals and service. I was a little concerned that things might change., not necessarily for the better .when the hotel changed hands last year. Three visits latter I am pleased that the hotel is as good as ever. Some of the rooms have been upgraded. There is some limited car parking on site but there are also public car parking near by. The hotel is central and close to the main shopping centre. For those who need it there is entertainment nightly.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Johnhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Johnny,

Thank you for the excellent review on your recent stay.

Being such a loyal returning guest of many years - your feedback is extremely important to us so thank you.

It is really great that as with previous visits - you had another wonderful time on holiday with us and it's fantastic our staff made you feel so welcome again.

Thank you for the great mention of our location - this helps other visitors when looking to book, our location is ideal being directly in the town centre minutes walk away from many of Blackpool fantastic attractions and shops.

All in all it really is fantastic you had a great holiday with us - we are currently underway with a huge expansion through to next door - and once complete we will be adding 30 new premier rooms, a large cabaret venue plus sensual spa so we hope you will return soon to see the exciting upgrades.

From myself and all of the staff and management, all the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews