We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely hotel with a great atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We are a family of 4 and have just returned from a 2 night break staying at this hotel. We travelled to see the switching on of the lights.

We had a very helpful welcome and could store our luggage until the check in time at 2pm. Our room was huge and could sleep 5 (1 double and 3 single beds) and although it was one room the bathroom sat in between the adult and the kids beds so allowed a little privacy. There was plenty of storage space and the room was nicely decorated and was spotlessly clean although it didn't offer a view but for what time you spent in the room this didn't matter.

We stayed B&B but for both evenings booked to have an evening meal which was a fantastic deal. £10 per person for a 3 course meal and £5 for kids. They could either have a smaller portion of what was on offer for the adults or a separate childs meal. Each evening there was a choice of 2 different meals and both evenings the food was lovely. The breakfast was equally as nice and always plenty and very hot.

There was entertainment on both evenings and even though it may not be every ones taste it was great to sit and have a sing song. There was the usual evening bingo game and quiz. There was a magician on Saturday evening to entertain the kids.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

Situated perfectly just a short stroll from the tower I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 85
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TammySaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Stayed for 3 nights to see illuminations and had a very nice stay. There was my husband and I and our 12 year old.Large rooms. It was more like two rooms with the bathroom in the middle. Nicely decorated and a big shower. Buffet breakfast, so you could eat as much as you like. The food was lovely so we paid for evening meals too. My only issue was the toaster. You got either warm bread or well down toast depending on whether you put it through once or twice. Maybe some pop up toasters would be better and more economical.
Everybody was polite and friendly. We didn't spend much time in the hotel,during the day, but had a drink, and listened to the entertainment, late evening. Nothing wrong with the bar prices.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tgnarsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed here Friday until Monday on a coach holiday with Breaks 2 go. Check in was a very quick process despite there being a lot of people from our coach. Rooms are very modern, clean,spaces and comfy. Food is excellent and staff are very friendly and they look after their guests. On Sunday I didn't have my dinner because I had my lunch too late on in the day so I wasn't hungry but I felt special when a waitress from the restaurant asked me if I was ok because I didn't go to get any food.

The entertainment at the hotel was excellent. Live singers on stage & DJ's.

A show that I come to Blackpool each year for is the Legends Tribute Show at the Sands Venue beside the Tower. You need to go and see that when you are in Blackpool. Its on Thursday until Sunday nights with Fridays being specials A Night With A Legend.

If you haven't booked dinner with the hotel then I would recommend The Eating Inn. Go left and its just down the promenade or The swift hound. Only £5 in a taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkO826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Woww where to start. So checked inon 21st august for oir week stay and wasnt sure what to expect as never stayed. We def didnt need to worry. Our room was amazing so much room in it and with 2 kids and a baby just what was needed. Pleenty of storage spcious good size bathroom fresh towels etc every day lovely housekeeping staff. Reception. U guys do the hotel proud. Friendly helpful nothing to much always someone there no matter if day or night. So professional also. Bar staff just as good especially tom who is good laugh gets on well with everyone. The food was great can help yourself and always so fresh. Plenty of choice also and always kept clean. Good entertainment every night. We had friends who were staying in different hotel and they were allowed in to join us which is fanrastic. Thank u guys for making our week enjoyable relaxing and no hassle.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank bitwwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a brilliant family break at the Craig y don. Cannot fault this hotel , this was our 3rd visit and it was as always a pleasure to stay there and I will definitely be returning in the future. The breakfast they serve sets you up for the day , it is very good quality served by very friendly and welcoming staff . We also paid for the optional evening meal and we were very happy with the options available and thought it was exceptional value for money . Drinks were reasonably priced at the bar in a family friendly atmosphere. All in all we had a fab bank holiday weekend at the Craig y don and this hotel will always be our first choice whenever we return to blackpool in the future . Thanks to all at the Craig y don !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank brownsandra1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
991 reviews
2.1 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,374 reviews
0.9 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
2.2 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,244 reviews
2.4 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Blackpool

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing