We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again............”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again............”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Having went on a party weekend to Blackpool, We had been allocated to this hotel I have to warn you....Do not book here if you intend to eat, drink, sing, laugh or generally have a good time, someone describes it as an 'open prison' I have to agree we were treated like school kids by the general manager on arival (we are all 25+), the barman has a serious chip on his shoulder and we spent as much time away from the hotel as we could, by no means did we expect to rampage the place the stairs would have made that impossible! uneven shabby and needs updated! only positive is Susan in the dining area could not fault her service with a smile, great food plenty of it! To summarise if your under 50 I would not book here!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    115
    79
    58
    95
See reviews for
83
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We were given the melville hotel when we came to Blackpool with forthone. Staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was a tripple and it was on the small side but as we were only there for two nights and were not in the room all that often it did not matter. I would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cla1r31988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This place was a disgrace!! it was supposed to be one of the top hotels and i have seen better places to sleep in the street!!

the floors were uneven which cased me to fall and hurt my ankle... (massive dip in floor, not because i was drunk) staff were simple and tio the point, they were not very friendly! food was ok but the rooms were a disaster!! - no shower just a bath which is a bit much for 3 girls trying to get ready!!

The only way this hotel coukd be top of the list is if the list was upside down!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised, this hotel has all one expect and then some.
located very close to the city centre shops of blackpool and the tower.
the welcome was friendly, the staff was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel boasts a quite room ( lounge) and a very nice bar area, you dont need to leave the hotel. the room was very clean has a clean en suite bathroom with shower, the bed was comfortable and i had a very relaxing sleep.
The breakfast was more than one would expect.
Yes i fully recommend this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My family stayed at the hotel for the second time this year. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much for them. I am sure the family will be back again, this year.

Room Tip: all the rooms my family had were just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomonty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
1,256 reviews
0.2 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
196 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
945 reviews
0.1 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
318 reviews
0.2 km away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price range (per night): $56 - $163
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing