We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”
Review of The Newlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Newlands Hotel
Ranked #328 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
cheshire
1 review
“first class”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here this weekend and i would highly reccomend it, Heather and Phil were the perfect hosts, nice clean rooms,en siute and smoking rooms. excellent fresh cooked full english with unlimited coffee and toast, orange juice and cerials. will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdeelightx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and when we receive lovely comments it makes it all worth while for us. thank again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Just got back from my first trip to Blackpool, having stayed with Heather and Phil at their Newlands Hotel. Good food, the place was clean, comfortable and interesting, and everything catered for. Best of all, the hosts are really great; friendly, helpful and excellent company.
Went for a relaxing break, all went to plan until Phil got me blathered on the last evening.....

Dave and Pauline

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Dave / Pauline, thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there's beer involved Phil always seems to get a mention somewhere ... funny that! We enjoyed your company immensly and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best for 2012, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. On a night we went into the bar area and had a chat with them. They even had toys for the little ones to play with. The reception was warm and remained that way throughout the stay. The rooms were clean and the food was lovely, couldn't fault either. Situated in an ideal location and brilliant for families. Would definitely stay here again and recommend. Would've stayed again this yr but tried months before we wanted to go and they were full...just shows how popular they are! Stayed Oct 2010

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_taylos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that we couldn't get you in the last time, that's the downside of only having 8 rooms but the plus side means that we can do all the cleaning, cooking, etc. ourselves without employing staff, which ensures our high standards are maintained. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future, the little ones will love it now the promenade is about finished, it looks great! Thanks again, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I booked by phone on the Friday & we arrived on following Monday,(26th) we were greeted with a most welcome cuppa. Phil & Heather both made my Sister & I very welcome.
Our room was a pretty twin bedded with ensuite - the shower was bigger than 'normal' - i appreciated that cos i am too lol. Towels & soap were supplied - this saved on the packing.
Our room was exceptional both in cleanliness, layout, decor & size.
We had BB & EM - all meals were hot and of excellent quality & portion size.
Nothing was too much trouble for Heather & Phil -- eg Phil fixed a broken brake on my walking (trolley) aid as soon as i mentioned it.
Heather & Phil are a lovely, friendly, pleasant couple they made our stay so enjoyable that we were reluctant to leave,.
The Newlands is Excellent value for money. I would not dream of going to Blackpool if i could not stay with Phil & Heather.
We will most certainly book at The Newlands again, and will recommend it to anyone.
We arrived as strangers and left as friends - and you cannot get better than that in my opinion.
3 Cheers for Phil & heather xxxx

Room Tip: Just ring up and Phil and Heather & they will accomodate you xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elljay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Margaret / Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the room & meals. It was no problem at all fixing your brake, if we can help at all , we will. We both enjoyed your company and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes to you both, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The service was top notch Heather and Phil couldnt do enough to look after you and the room was 100% clean from bedding on the four poster bed to the clean shower in the ensuite the locatin of the Hotel was only 100 yards away from the sea we were only 10 min slow walk to the tower and town centre and The best part of the stay was the food heather does a fantastic breakfast and the evening meals are a must both Heather and Phil go out of their way to make your holiday very special from the breakfast to evening in their Bar They clean the rooms regularly through your stay and provide tea/coffee in you rooms... the worst part of the holiday was having to come home after a lovely and enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Just tell Heather what room you would like and if she can will be glad to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junew_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the meals, etc. Glad to hear that you liked the Hotel's location, it is one of the things that made us buy this Hotel over others we viewed as it was ideally situated centrally off the prom & just yards from the beach.
Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 km away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
2.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,905 reviews
1.3 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#296 of 856 in Blackpool
119 reviews
2.4 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
0.6 km away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#205 of 856 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newlands Hotel

Property: The Newlands Hotel
Address: 40 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): $29 - $44
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newlands is a small, friendly, licensed hotel, open all year. Most rooms en-suite; smoking & non-smoking rooms available. Unique 'Lord of the Rings' themed dining room & 'Music room' Bar. Situated 200 Metres from the beach and central pier - the ideal location within Blackpool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing