We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would be back if there was less noise at night !!!”
Review of The Newlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Newlands Hotel
Ranked #367 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The rooms were spotless, the food was fantastic, Phil and Heather were there the most welcoming people. The only downside was the noise at night, we were in room 3, it was unfortunately direclty over the bar and music room and at most nights we were not getting to sleep until at least 12 at night. Our last night was disturbed until 1.40 am. Good if you are night owls !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Hi Janice / Carl; Thank you for your comments, we are really sorry to hear that noise from the bar disturbed your sleep. As you know it isn't possible to please all of the people all of the time, despite us bending over backwards to try. If you had mentioned it to us when we asked if you had slept OK we could have tried to keep all of the other guests a little quieter for you. Anyway, hope it hasn't put you off visiting us in the future as we enjoyed your company and Carl is one of the most polite young men we have met in a long while. You will also be pleased to know that we managed to un-block the toilet you blocked without having to call anyone out over the Bank Holiday weekend so everything turned out OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed at the Newlands for four days with kids ( 5 & 14 months) . Phil and Heather are great hosts & went out of their way to keep the kids entertained (my 5 year old didnt want to leave at the end of the holiday!).
The hotel is really clean and the food is excellent.
Will definately be back next year & would recommend the Newlands to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Lynne, thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us (whatever their ages) and when we receive nice comments it makes it all worth while. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

we chose this hotel because of the reviews on this site and I have to say that all the reviews are correct apart from the moaners there no need to moan nothing to moan about this hotel, It is centrally situated 10 mins stroll to tower, sea lifde centre and a 20 min stroll to pleasure beach, we went as a family have a 9 year old and a 4 month old and my partener we stayed in the family room which was very clean have no complaints about the room also breakfast was great, we came on the monday and left on the sat morning, phil and heather are great with people and children, it is true alot of places do say child friendly but don't really like kids but phil and heather love kids they are welcome in the bar area and there is lots to do to keep them amused, bar prices are great we found ourselves eating tea there most nights and rather than go out we just stayed in the bar every night the prices are great, we saving up and going for a week next time.
the only probs i have is not the hotel but the scams on the street when you walk along the sea front there is stalls like throw a dart and score points if you get told to win everytime tell them no they will try to get you into conversation with them by asking where you from they are scams if you want a teddy which is what they give you it is better to go to amusements also watch for the people saying there wanting money for charity if they no id they are scams aswell we only got stopped once from him so not to bad and one last thing if a man comes up to you and asks if you got a sense of humour then just say no he is selling joke books, he dosn't hastle you just say no he will go away lol,
the first night we ate out at a fish and chip shop i would say do not go there at all is was rubbish total awfull food it is called fish and chips along the seafront between amusements, it is a blue one on the corner with 2 benches outside we ate there the chips were manky and the fish was grey and the batter soggy it will prob be empty aswell my daughter got nuggets and they were so processed tasted awful i like cheap nuggets but these were disgusting, the next day we walked passed it was so dead the man serving was asleep lol,
def go to newlands hotel what more can I say this hotel rocks x x x x x

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay (especially the kids) & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best, Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, everywhere was clean beyond belief, Phil & Heather very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was great. Will definately be staying again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Hi Wendy, thanks for taking the time to add a review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and the breakfast). We enjoyed your company & we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We go to Blackpool every august for the punk wkend and we av stayed with Heather and phil the last 3 yrs . They really are lovely people who make you feel like family the rooms are spotless and the full English is the best ! Nice location 10 mins walk to wintergardens and most attractions . We av booked for this yr already won't stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themorg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy your stays with us (and the breakfasts too). We always enjoy the punk weekend as we get a great crowd of friendly couples. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in August. Cheers, Phil & Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
525 reviews
0.6 km away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#102 of 860 in Blackpool
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,154 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#323 of 860 in Blackpool
122 reviews
1.3 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#278 of 860 in Blackpool
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Blackpool

Been to The Newlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newlands Hotel

Address: 40 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $29 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newlands is a small, friendly, licensed hotel, open all year. Most rooms en-suite; smoking & non-smoking rooms available. Unique 'Lord of the Rings' themed dining room & 'Music room' Bar. Situated 200 Metres from the beach and central pier - the ideal location within Blackpool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing