We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
670
37
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
37
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread on arrival yogurt quiet lane top floor full english high standard home made lake district smoked salmon perfect hosts breakfast was delicious spa bath superb stay warm welcome a couple of minutes walk beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Stayed for one night and can’t fault it
Nice bedroom ,bathroom and overall cleanliness was faultless
Breakfast was superb and the special was excuiset
Not far from bowness so great setting and location

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jedny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We always love to be back to WL ! We stayed for 2 nights this time. Both Richard & Yvonne are brilliant hosts and very attentive to details like beautiful room decorations, technical practicality of all settings, unforgettable breakfast, very comfortable bed, and the last but not the least, helping guests resolve ad hoc problems such as car issues. We enjoy very much to have a homey and comfy stay there. For sure, we will definitely be back again for the 3rd, 4th.....trips back, and highly recommend Wheatlands Lodge for other travelers!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesusloveyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Wheatlands is in a quiet lane just a couple of minutes walk from Windermere's shops, cafes and restaurants. There's plenty of free parking and we were welcomed by Dorothy (standing in for the owners who were on holiday) with a tray of tea and coffee and home-made lemon cake.
Our room was No 1, which I think is listed as "superior club double or twin" and is a bright and comfortable room on the ground floor with large windows overlooking the garden. The beds were comfortable, good tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits were supplied in the room, it had sun blinds and good blackout curtains and the en suite shower room, although small, was very clean with ample hot water and good shower pressure. There were two comfortable armchairs and a decent-sized wall-mounted tv. A little low chat was sometimes audible after 8am as guests arrived in the dining room next door for breakfast but it didn't disturb us and the room was very quiet at all other times. The free wifi worked very well.
Breakfasts were excellent - we enjoyed everything from home made granola, roasted and fresh fruits and home made yogurt to full English with local produce, smoked salmon, avocado and poached eggs, all served with home made bread/toast and jams/ marmalade. Breakfast is from 8-9.15 but we usually turned up just after 9 and it was all very relaxed - we never felt rushed.
All staff were friendly and helpful and Dorothy is very familiar with the area and helped us with recommendations and directions. We would definitely choose to stay here again if we return to Windermere.

Room Tip: Recommend Room 1 on ground floor. Nice open view over quiet garden.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank SMWestEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay at Wheatlands, had a fabulous time so relaxing and comfortable!!
We were greeted by the relief manageress Dorothy so warm and welcoming ,also the assistant Kinga so happy and fantastic at her job !!
A big thank you to the both of them in making our holiday so enjoyable .
The room was brilliant and spotless ,the bed just wrap it self round you so comfy.
The bath was so relaxing and then you had lovely bathrobes and slippers to keep you that relaxing mood .
Windermere has so many places to eat in ,the choice is down to your selfs, in what you feel like eating ,I don't think I experience a bad meal .
And after all that eating you have the experience of the best breakfast going ,and it is amazing ,how you will eat all and enjoy every bit !!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Z12ZOjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Booked this as a surprise for my boyfriends 36th. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who enjoy having a conversation with you. Asked for chocolates and champagne for the room on arrival and was not disappointed. Was also offered cake. Room comfortable and very clean. 2 minuet walk from the village. Breakfast was fabulous. Would go again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodcritique1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews