We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Wheatlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge
Ranked #8 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Incredible Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here with my partner in crime in 2009. We were in the Lakes to reconnect - The Lakes always does that for us and staying at this amazing hotel was just the icing on the cake!
The owner Sarah is the most caring and friendly "woman who runs a bed and breakfast" you will ever meet. She gave us tips on where to eat etc. She made the trip so well worth it!

The hotel is tastefully decorated and spotless! There was nothing spared. Breakfast in the morning should be a review unto itself - everything was fresh, well cooked and the presentation was flawless. Just what I needed to tackle 4 days of strenuous hiking! I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Sorry it took so long to write this review. FAB! FAB! FAB!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own charm. You will not be disappointed no matter what room you stay in. Just m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    33
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
514
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

stayed in october 2 nights spotless clean breakfast was excellent sarah very welcoming overall great value for money would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for the owners of this Bed and Breakfast. Sarah and Joe run an immaculately clean and welcoming house which is beautifully and sympathetically decorated to a very high standard. We were met on our arrival by tea and cakes and the whole three day visit continued in this vein with Sarah even drying our walking boots for us in the boiler room. The breakfasts are amazing and necessitate the walking even if that is not why you are in Windermere. We will definitely be back! Leah

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LET89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My partner, Sylvia , and I booked this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate Sylvia's 75th birthday. We couldn't have chosen a better place than this. We arrived on the Sunday surrounded by snow but able to park the car in the private carpark. We were warmly greeted by the owner, Sarah who showed us to a lovely, large room on the ground floor which, together with the bathroom, was spotlessly clean. She then invited us to partake of coffee/tea and cakes in the lounge.
Next morning the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and in the evening we walked around the corner to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Monday night we went to another nearby restaurant and again had a lovely meal. Tuesday evening (Sylvias birthday) we had a fantastic meal at a nearby restaurant called Francines where we had some fantastic Lobster Thermidor
We were very sorry to leave on the Wednesday morning but took away many happy memories.
Many thanks to Sarah and her husband Joe who made it all so enjoyable

Room Tip: all the 9 rooms appear to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Enjoyed some bright clear weather ideal for walking in the first few days of February in Windermere. Wheatlands Lodge proved to be a good choice of accommodation situated in a quiet lane with private parking, and only two minutes walk from shops and bars and restaurants.
Our room no 8, large, comfortable and clean was on the top floor and had a view of the garden.The bathroom with modern fittings was very clean and huge and had a separate shower and bath.
The owners Sarah and Joe offered a warm and friendly welcome.
The lovely breakfast was served in a stylish and elegant room overlooking the garden.
This B and B would be our first choice when we return to the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge

Property: Wheatlands Lodge
Address: Old College Lane, Windermere LA23 1BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): $240 - $294
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatlands Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatlands Lodge is 5 star Bed and Breakfast situated in the centre of Windermere on a quiet road just off the main road fro Windermere to Bowness. All our rooms are en-suite . Windermere is a 20 minute walk from the Lake. We are 5 minutes away from Windermere station . Our breakfasts are homemade using the highest quality ingredients available. We make all our own bread , yoghurt ,mueslis, jams and award winning marmalades. Fresh tea or coffee and homemade cakes are offered on arrival. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel Windermere
Wheatlands Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing