We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
670
37
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
37
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread on arrival yogurt quiet lane top floor full english high standard home made lake district smoked salmon perfect hosts breakfast was delicious spa bath superb stay warm welcome a couple of minutes walk beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for the owners of this Bed and Breakfast. Sarah and Joe run an immaculately clean and welcoming house which is beautifully and sympathetically decorated to a very high standard. We were met on our arrival by tea and cakes and the whole three day visit continued in this vein with Sarah even drying our walking boots for us in the boiler room. The breakfasts are amazing and necessitate the walking even if that is not why you are in Windermere. We will definitely be back! Leah

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LET89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My partner, Sylvia , and I booked this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate Sylvia's 75th birthday. We couldn't have chosen a better place than this. We arrived on the Sunday surrounded by snow but able to park the car in the private carpark. We were warmly greeted by the owner, Sarah who showed us to a lovely, large room on the ground floor which, together with the bathroom, was spotlessly clean. She then invited us to partake of coffee/tea and cakes in the lounge.
Next morning the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and in the evening we walked around the corner to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Monday night we went to another nearby restaurant and again had a lovely meal. Tuesday evening (Sylvias birthday) we had a fantastic meal at a nearby restaurant called Francines where we had some fantastic Lobster Thermidor
We were very sorry to leave on the Wednesday morning but took away many happy memories.
Many thanks to Sarah and her husband Joe who made it all so enjoyable

Room Tip: all the 9 rooms appear to be excellent
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Enjoyed some bright clear weather ideal for walking in the first few days of February in Windermere. Wheatlands Lodge proved to be a good choice of accommodation situated in a quiet lane with private parking, and only two minutes walk from shops and bars and restaurants.
Our room no 8, large, comfortable and clean was on the top floor and had a view of the garden.The bathroom with modern fittings was very clean and huge and had a separate shower and bath.
The owners Sarah and Joe offered a warm and friendly welcome.
The lovely breakfast was served in a stylish and elegant room overlooking the garden.
This B and B would be our first choice when we return to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My partner booked a room at Wheatlands Lodge for my 50th birthday and I must say I could not have asked for better. Our room was fabulous. I loved the decor and the huge bathroom.
When we arrived we were offered tea or coffee which made us feel welcome straight away.
Breakfast was brilliant I could not resist (Sarah's recommendation) the fresh berries topped with yoghurt, honey and flaked almonds - this was before my full english!
The owners Joe and Sarah were always on hand if you needed anything and nothing was a problem. We were meant to be staying for two nights but extended this because I loved the place sooo much.
We will definately be back. It was like a home from home but better!

Room Tip: We were in room 9 which was fantastic but I would imagine all rooms would be of the same standard.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagDav57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived and instantly knew that we had made the right choice. Warm, clean and a friendly welcome. Our room was stunning, as was everywhere, then we were offered a tea or coffee with some delicious cake in the sitting room. The breakfast was first class. To some up we will be back.

Room Tip: don`t worry too much as all rooms are a delight, we were given a tour before we left.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfisher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews