We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely base for a relaxing break!”
other travellers have booked this property
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bubbly & Poetry on the Private Jetty Windermere:Private Jetty just 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bubbly & Poetry on the Private Jetty
Windermere:Private Jetty just 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Lakeland Heart
A blend of old and new
Solid Oak Howdens Kitchen
On the way to the Lake shore....
The Way through the woods...
Romance:Enjoy the View and a Picnic for Two
The Path to Easedale Tarn from Grasmere a favourite haunt of the Wordsworths
NB Approx 8 miles
Easedale Tarn - a place for Poets
Distance 8 miles approx
Easedale Tarn near Grasmere ( About 10 miles drive or Bus 555 to Grasmere and Walk)
Sit outside and enjoy the Views
Windermere Sunset taken from the property
Open-plan Living Room with oak floor
Snuggle up and enjoy the View
A Room with a View
Howdens Kitchen or the Miller Howe  world-famous restaurant just down the road-  eat in or out ....
Laura Ashley Bedroom with Kingsize bed NB There is only ONE Bedroom
Private path to the Lake
Relax with romantic Lakeland Poetry
Room with a View
Laura Ashley Bedroom,
Kitchen with a View of the Lake
Shower, Basin, WC, Heated Towel Rail, Slate floor
Parking next to the property with a view of the Lake
View from the Private Jetty
Laura Ashley Bedroom
King-Size Bed.
Private path down to the Lake....
View from the house
Autumnal walk to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn
Stroll down to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn Colours close to the cottage
Autumn in the Lake District - awash with colour
Ancient and Modern
Relax with a book
The Lady of the Lake a romantic poem by Sir Walter Scott
The Lady of the Lake
A Room with a View
Snow on the hills at sunset.
Rocio, one of our Spanish guests, admiring the Sunset on the Private jetty
Photo taken from the Private Jetty
Sunset on the Shore  - a short stroll from the cottage
Park right by The Lady of the Lake.
On arrival this is what you will see.
Park  with a View
HIRE a BOAT
Have fun!
Take a Lake Cruise from Brockholes and visit WRAY CASTLE & Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dtadmin
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely base for a relaxing break!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The cottage is in an ideal location, with a view of the lake and a very pretty walk through the wood to the waters edge - very picturesque.
Chris and James were so helpful and really made us feel welcome - right from the initial booking, through to a gorgeous welcome setting waiting for us when we arrived and not to mention the helpful tips and hints.
Highly recommended! Thank you Chris and James!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely 5***** Review. So pleased that you both had a relaxing time and enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshGoodf...
1 review
“Exceptional Stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a wonderful stay with my girlfriend (now fiancé) for 2 nights! Location was excellent & the scenery/views were great. The private jetty on the lake was also a lovely touch! The cottage itself was very homely & cosy, kitchen, living area, master bedroom & toilet all kept to an excellent standard. Christine the owner was always easily contactable & greeted us when we arrived which was greatly appreciated, also she had very good knowledge of the area and gave us plenty of wonderful suggestions for activities & dining etc. Overall I would definelty recommend this cottage for couples or families & I hope that I will stay again soon! 5/5!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Congratulations to you, and your fiancée, on getting engaged, on the shores of Lake Windermere, on the private jetty, just down the track from the cottage. We wish you both a life full of happiness together and hope to meet you both again. Thank you for your super 5***** REVIEW.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross f
Berkshire, UK
5 reviews
“Ideal retreat for solitude & relaxation.”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Though very suited for a romantic getaway the cottage is also perfect for a solo traveller. Lovely views over the lake (granted I was lucky with near perfect autumnally weather) and a short stroll to the private jetty. An ideal spot to view Lake Windermere and relax.
The cottage was very well equipped as well as being close enough to Windermere Village & Bowness on Windermere but without the selfie sticked tourists causing a distraction. I should have confirmed with the owners some points as my DAB radio, torch & tea bags were superfluous as all they & more were already at the cottage.
The tips & suggestions by the owners were very useful & everything made for a wonderful break that exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Jetty
Liked least: nothing it surpassed my expectations
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Delighted to hear that your Windermere visit exceeded expectations - we designed the little cottage to be a place of peace and relaxation - your thoughtful comments capture it all and yours must rank as our favourite Review so far. Thank you for leaving the place so clean & tidy - a perfect guest - most welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little getaway”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Once my husband got over not having a tv or internet connection we really enjoyed our break. The cottage was well maintained and nice and clean with plenty of kitchen utensils etc. Chris rang to check everything was ok and decked the lounge area out with birthday banners and flowers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Glad you enjoyed getting away from it all along with the birthday banner & flowers. We designed the place for total relaxation- with just the View of the Lake, a radio/cd and a few poetry books - including Wordsworth- wandering lonely as a cloud amongst the golden daffodils. There have been 3 proposals and several renewing of marriage vows on the private jetty - where the sun going down surpasses all media.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
76lydia5
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

met by Chris the owner who was both friendly and helpful, we were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary and Chris (who we had never met till this stay} was busy decorating the apartment with bunting to wish us well, how nice and thoughtful of her it really made us feel special. we are frequent visitors to the lakes and have stayed in all kinds of accommodation of all shapes and sizes but for a escape pad for 2 this takes some beating.
Both central and quiet with a lake view and clean as a whistle what more could you ask. we will be returning for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lake view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for your fantastic Review - it was a pleasure to meet such a delightful couple who appreciated the Lake District & our property. Thank you for leaving the place so clean and tidy. You will always be most welcome in Windermere
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing