We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bubbly & Poetry on the Private Jetty Windermere:Private Jetty just 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bubbly & Poetry on the Private Jetty
Windermere:Private Jetty just 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Lakeland Heart
A blend of old and new
Solid Oak Howdens Kitchen
On the way to the Lake shore....
The Way through the woods...
Romance:Enjoy the View and a Picnic for Two
The Path to Easedale Tarn from Grasmere a favourite haunt of the Wordsworths
NB Approx 8 miles
Easedale Tarn - a place for Poets
Distance 8 miles approx
Easedale Tarn near Grasmere ( About 10 miles drive or Bus 555 to Grasmere and Walk)
Sit outside and enjoy the Views
Windermere Sunset taken from the property
Open-plan Living Room with oak floor
Snuggle up and enjoy the View
A Room with a View
Howdens Kitchen or the Miller Howe  world-famous restaurant just down the road-  eat in or out ....
Laura Ashley Bedroom with Kingsize bed NB There is only ONE Bedroom
Private path to the Lake
Relax with romantic Lakeland Poetry
Room with a View
Laura Ashley Bedroom,
Kitchen with a View of the Lake
Shower, Basin, WC, Heated Towel Rail, Slate floor
Parking next to the property with a view of the Lake
View from the Private Jetty
Laura Ashley Bedroom
King-Size Bed.
Private path down to the Lake....
View from the house
Autumnal walk to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn
Stroll down to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn Colours close to the cottage
Autumn in the Lake District - awash with colour
Ancient and Modern
Relax with a book
The Lady of the Lake a romantic poem by Sir Walter Scott
The Lady of the Lake
A Room with a View
Snow on the hills at sunset.
Rocio, one of our Spanish guests, admiring the Sunset on the Private jetty
Photo taken from the Private Jetty
Sunset on the Shore  - a short stroll from the cottage
Park right by The Lady of the Lake.
On arrival this is what you will see.
Park  with a View
HIRE a BOAT
Have fun!
Take a Lake Cruise from Brockholes and visit WRAY CASTLE & Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little bungalow had both a beautifully decorated interior and stunning view of lake Windermere. We had everything we needed facilities-wise and received a warm welcome from Christine who also gave great advice on places to visit/eat in the area. My partner and I had a lovely morning walking down the private path to the lake-side jetty where we had breakfast in the sun. It was a lovely weekend break from city life and I'm sure we'll go back there in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for describing your stay and the accommodation so well - very useful for other Trip Advisor holidaymakers. The jetty at Breakfast sounded lovely - since your visit there have been 2 Proposals of Marriage in the Sunset on the Jetty - altogether very romantic - as advertised!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great views, lovely place and even lovlier people!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Lady of the Lake with the intention of using it as a base for a relaxing long weekend in the lakes. It was absolutely perfect for us, being big enough for a couple of people, with all the comforts of home bar a TV - but who goes to the lakes to watch TV?

The house is really nicely decorated and extremely comfortable, but the setting is really what makes it special. It's got a beautiful view of the lake from the front of the house, with access to a scenic jetty only a couple of minutes walk from the front door, and Windermere, Ambleside and Bowness are a walkable distance away.

I cannot fault the service we received at all - unfortunately, Chris wasn't able to meet us on the first day but she really went out of her way to ensure that we had the best possible stay, giving us all the information we needed about the house and the best places to go and see in the surrounding area. You really get the sense that they want you to enjoy yourself, which is a really nice touch!

It's a great place with tonnes of character, a gorgeous setting and a wonderful host. We'd thoroughly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the welcoming hosts
Liked least: That we only booked a few days - we'd have liked to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Your thoughtful Review says it all - and should be a great help to other Trip Advisor travellers. Thank you very much, indeed, for your generous comments. We look forward to meeting you next time - please ask for a Loyalty Discount. C&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri P
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views & lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary, the cottage is compact but has everything you will need, it's very clean.
Chris & James really looked after us, and we're very helpful.
The views from the cottage are gorgeous, it was so peaceful & relaxing so if that's what your looking for Lady of Lake is perfect!
Would definitely visit again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
So glad you had a Happy Anniversary - thank you for your kind Review and Text message and for leaving the place so clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute little hIdeaway with great views”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were met by the owner Christine who was very welcoming and informative. The cottage was very well furnished and clean. There was a lovely view of lake Windermere, and a path that led straight down to the lake.Allocated parking was very nice to have. This was a lovely place for a nice peaceful break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet with great view of lake
Liked least: No wi-fi or TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you for writing a Review and for your very kind messages after you left. We are ways looking for ways to improve so do tell us how.. So glad you both enjoyed our " Cute Hideaway"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggie735
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Getaway”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for providing this beautiful and romantic place to stay over the bank holiday weekend, it is the essence of relaxation. Christine, the owner, is such a lovely person and makes you feel relaxed before you even arrive! The place is close to everything that you need to see in and around Windermere and the view from the living room is stunning. We were also spoiled by a lovely surprise on the last morning, seeing a young deer wandering by the bedroom window. There was also a friendly green duck waiting at the front door for a bite to eat. We have already recommended this property to friends of ours and are looking forward to another visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything :)
Liked least: that we have to come back home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for your charming Review - we hope that you will both be back . We are happy to offer a Loyalty Discount on Windermere or our Lodge by the River Avon in Shakespeare's Stratford : A Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge advertised on Holiday Lettings ID 16 13 13
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing