We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating  lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. With five stars, one Michelin Star and three AA Rosettes, warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences at these two luxury country houses spanning two estates in the beautiful Lake District.  Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, ‘Hrishi’, where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in ‘Gilpin Spice’ a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. At Gilpin Hotel all of the bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - 6 Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and 5 fabulous detached Spa Lodges with private ensuite spas (rainmaker showers and steam rooms inside, hydrotherapy hot tubs and saunas outside) for a very special, private experience. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, just 6 suites enjoy exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds, including a stunningly beautiful private lake, boat house, pool, hot-tubs and spa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

A beautiful location is the best thing about this hotel. Staff are over attentive to the point of being annoying and wanting to tell them to go away and leave us alone. The food was fairly good (the beef was outstanding but did have a £10 supplement) spoilt by being served in a conservatory which felt like eating in someone's bad extension which had been built in the 1980s and not redecorated since. Tables were far too close together for an intimate dinner and the whole sorry experience was capped by terrible coffee and petit fours. Our room was nice but again spoilt by a bathroom stuck in an eighties time warp. As golf can be described as a good walk ruined so this hotel could be described as a good location let down by a poor finish. Perhaps all the effort went into the lake house? The main hotel is certainly lacking in charm and finesse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Craigmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    43
    24
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Amazing weekend from start to finish! The garden suite room was perfect. Ideal for romantic getaway. Service was excellent - very attentive staff couldnt do enough to accomodate. Food was top class. Will definately return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Try the tasting menu at Gilpin Lodge, fabulous !!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect evening I couldn't ask for more!! Great service, atmosphere, surroundings, staff & food.”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Fabulous!!! This was a birthday treat for my deserving other half so my expectations were running high; I was not disappointed. (Which is not an easy task being an 'ex' service manager for hotels & restaurants.)

From the moment the taxi pulled up at the front door the service was First Class. The hostess was holding the front door open before the driver had put the handbrake on and our experience was seamless from that point forward. We relaxed in the bar with drinks and the most exquisite appetisers, while browsing through the menu. (I resisted the offer to walk through their wine store) Once our starters were ready, we were taken through to the dining area where our beautiful and tasty experience began. The menu provided the only issue of the evening... what to choose.... between us we could have happily chosen everything. Everything was beautifully presented (we looked at everyone elses as it came out too!) and each dish was cooked to perfection with a balance of flavours and textures.

The staff were remarkable. It's been a long time since I have experienced such wonderful service: they were polite, efficient and knowledgeable. BUT also friendly and approachable. They helped make a wonderful evening become a very special & memorable one.

It's not the cheapest place to go but you DO get what you pay for, so if money's not a concern or if you want a special treat you can count on this is the place.

We shall be going back. We might even stay next time, though I'm not sure we'd see much of the Lake District if we did!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KsGirl_Thursday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful place to say”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our second stay at Gilpin Lodge, this time we took our friends with us for a treat. We were upgraded to larger suite rooms which were absolutely gorgeous. The decor at Gilpin Lodge is elegant, sophistocated without being stuffy, it is so cosy and homely.
The staff are excellent, friendly and happy to help. On both occasions we are have met members of the family who own the hotel, such a personal touch as they take the time to speak to the guests and know if you have visited before or if it is your first time.
The food at dinner was excellent again, as was the service.
When we were leaving I had commented on the colour of the paintwork in the dining room where we had breakfast, the owner took my email address and said he would find out the colour and email me. Sure enough, a week or so later I received an email with the colour and make of the paint. I was so impressed that he had taken the time to do this when he runs such a busy hotel and restaurant but it is all part of the service at Gilpin, nothing is too much trouble.
We cannot wait to go back again next year.
Julie Hurst

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank juliehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilpin Hotel & Lake House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing