We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
91
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet area windermere town night stay high standard location is great weekend break little touches comfortable bed a lovely stay my partner phil tilly hosts ensuite breakfast guesthouse accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Rang Beckmead house ahead of arrival and explained we were in the lakes to attend a wedding, amazingly friendly and the lady advised we could check in early from lunch time- really accommodating. Phil was lovely and friendly on arrival, even offered to call taxi a for us and explained breakfast times. The hotel itself is immaculate throughout, the room was small but perfect and everything you needed was there! 100% would recommend and breakfast was amazing too and lots of choice!! Great find Thankyou X

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank michaelamarshall2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I have a confession to make...prior to staying at Beckmead two weeks ago, I'd only ever stayed in chain hotels - being slightly fearful of family owned accommodation. My phobia has been cured by an excellent stay myself and my boyfriend (his review in below) had here in November. The guest house is beautifully presented in a quiet residential street a very short walk from Windermere town and within walking distance of Bowness-on-Windermere. We were kindly welcomed by Phil (who couldn't do enough for us all weekend) and shown to our room which was on the top floor, beautifully decorated and very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was also excellent (I'm a fussy vegetarian!). I honestly can't speak highly enough of Beckmead and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottelouiseadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Great little place, very friendly and well furnished. Nice breakfast in the morning, I had the full English and there was a veggie option a well. The owners were happy to advise us on what to do and where to go locally. Would stay again next time I'm in Windermere

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasjp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night(Friday)
Was made to feel very welcome from our arrival by Phil. The room was cosy and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was nice and It was a nice stroll into bowness on the evening. Would definitely stay again and good value for money as the lakes can be expensive to stay at times.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for the second time last week and it was absolutely fantastic (again!). Tilly and Phil do a great job of making their guests feel welcome and provided some great suggestions of walks, meals etc. Breakfast was great and the room was clean and cosy. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dwattsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews