We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
1,215
131
23
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,215
131
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding package cream tea wonderful wedding lake district beautiful hotel wedding venue nothing is too much trouble afternoon tea stunning views course meal from start to finish night stay couldn't do enough high standard second to none beautiful room biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2021

An absolutely fantastic experience in stunning grounds.
You couldn't fault it at all from arriving on Christmas Eve to departing on 27th Dec the attention to detail throughout our stay was 5 star from Albert and his team. Our rooms where fantastic & very spacious. We have never tasted food like it, compliments to the Chef for outstanding menus throughout our stay ( we certainly put a few pounds on). We cannot wait to visit again.

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank michael164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful one night stay at this beautiful hotel and can’t wait until we are allowed to return again. From the moment we arrived on the car park we felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed every element of our visit.

The grounds are beautiful and you can walk right down to the lakes edge. There aren’t any walks as such direct from the hotel but hundreds just a short car ride away so the location is brilliant.

The staff were superb . Not in the least bit stuffy but professional and welcoming. They explained everything to do with the virus clearly and we felt safe at all times.

Our room was very comfortable indeed and we slept very well . It was nice to have a bath after a long walk in the freezing temperatures and it made a big difference. Everything you need for a comfortable stay is in the room including a top-class coffee machine and bath robes. The beds were very comfortable indeed.

And the food! It was very difficult to choose from the menu even though it wasn’t massive. Everything sounded wonderful and that proved to be the case. It could have been a little bit warmer with the main courses but every dish and every course was top class.

All in all, a fantastic shortstay and we will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank OfftheirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020

Lovely stay.Cannot fault this hotel. The food was fabulous, compliments to the chef. All of the staff were friendly and always polite.
Our ground floor room was spacious with lovely views.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annetteb854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

A fantastic experience in stunning surroundings.
Lovely sized room with patio. Great little private lakeside trails to enjoy the sunrise. The food was exceptional and I’m not embarrassed to say, we ate dishes that we hadn’t heard of before. A well organised package given the tough circumstances. Games, magicians, harpist, they thought of everything. The management and staff get 5 stars from me for their first class service throughout our stay.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidbG680WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Back to Cragwood for our second wedding anniversary. The staff here are always very friendly and give excellent service. A card was waiting in our room and it’s the little things that make this place stand out. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. We look forward to many more visits to this wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: December 2020
2  Thank 671jimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews