We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
499
202
39
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
499
202
39
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room cream tea lovely hotel bar meals evening meal scones lake district on arrival enjoyable stay public areas a lovely stay cooked breakfast night break couldn't do enough the ground floor stayed for one night both nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel provides a high standard.
The staff are very professional but friendly and helpful.
The room was comfortable, clean and larger than average, the one down side was an erratic electric shower.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
We did not dine for the evening meal.
The one negative, I thought it lacked a bit of atmosphere, but that`s purely personal .
Location is good for ferries but it`s a car drive to Windermere/Ambleside.
Yes I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lakesideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Three night stay in a very nice hotel, first class service and excellent food. The hotel is well appointed in a picturesque location. The outstanding feature of a very enjoyable stay were the staff who were friendly efficient and added greatly to a very enjoyable experience.
The longhorn cattle next door we’re excellent neighbors.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank steveandrew95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with our dog for 1 night and received a wonderful welcome. Lovely food....friendly staff. Nice room.... superb. We were greeted by Roger on arrival who could not do enough for us. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 collies & felt very welcome.Dogs are allowed in any of the three lounges, they set our breakfast places ready for us in the mornings.Some hotels although say 'dog friendly' but expect you to put your dogs in the car when you eat because you can't leave them in the room either not here if your dog is well behaved you can leave them in your room or take them with you while you have your meal. It was really clean & no doggie smell at all in our room. Everyone was friendly would definitely return to this charming hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank steffy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with the husband and would definitely return. Rooms were clean and decorated beautifully. We had lunch sandwiches, chips and cream tea all was delicious. The breakfast was amazing just like the staff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelleq4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews