We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Have passed this hotel many times, I wanted a one night stay over the Bank Hol weekend to meet up with some friends who were camping. This hotel ticked all the boxes, especially as I was on my own with two dogs (husband stuck on an oil rig) The grounds were lovely, my room clean and cosy, breakfast first class, and the staff friendly and professional

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    163
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
330
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
WHY134
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

FAO MR R. BENSON.

Hello Mr. Benson . My Wife and I would like to say a special ‘ Thank You’ for the Quality of our Weekend Break – 13th May 2011.
The friendly manner of both yourself, and your staff, sets the standard for the way guests should be treated. Although many staff are ‘unseen’, we are still aware of their efforts. The food was excellent and our room a pleasure.
Regards Pat and Tony Tuer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHY133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I recently took a party of 9 of our closest family and friends to get married at this hotel.

I don't think words can describe the pleasure they brought to my big day.

The Grounds were immaculately kept, with plenty of space and amazing scenery.

The Hotel was very clean, the cleaners were lovely and very courtious.

The Rooms were clean, tidy, with tv's and freeview, good sized, the same for the en suite bathrooms. Huge & comfortable beds - an amazing nights sleep.

The Food was exeptionally good, presentation and taste were equal and of high standards, I can definately recommemd the lamb!

The Customer Service - well this is where the hotel really excells, from helping me with bags to ironing my wedding dress, It was like having my own personal PA and she was so so helpful. Roger the hotel manager was most helpful and dealt with our wedding like it was his own, everything wen perfect. The staff work that well together you'd think it was family run.

All round experience at Briery wood was absoloutely amazing, no one tiny complaint from one of our guests, I couldn't be more pleased with the service provided to us.

Thank you so much to Roger, Jennifer, Margret, Louise & the rest of the staff that made our wedding day and stay so special xxx

Room Tip: Just ask Roger!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Vey friendly service in this comfortable but relaxed country house hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful or polite, excellent. Restaurant meals an absolute delight: good range of meals on offer catering for different tastes. Main meals and starters changing each day and a good selection of deserts. Home made bread rolls with starters and hand made chocolates with coffee to finish to round off the meals. Good selection of quality wine available.
Hotel conveniently situated near to Ambleside and many amenities within easy drive or walk of the Hotel.
Room very spaceous with a lovely view of the gardens: the bluebells in the woods within the hotel grounds and very grand specimen Monkey Puzzle Tree were highlights.
All in all a very relaxed four days in great surroundings, with good food and wine - who could ask for more!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hotel is exactly as described in the reviews,good room,good food and nothing was to much trouble for the staff.The hotel is quiet and relaxing, especially in the large gardens and is well situated for ambleside and windermere,very enjoyable stay.
we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.6 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
7.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
4.7 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Property: Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): $120 - $211
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing