We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Can't speak highly enough of Jane & Mark at Thornbank House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornbank Guest House
Ranked #8 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't speak highly enough of Jane & Mark at Thornbank House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We recently had 9 nights at Thornbank House and shall never forget Jane and Mark's friendliness, help and hospitality. Nothing was too much for them. The room and bathroom were spotless and the varied breakfast delicious. They made our stay unforgettable and if we are ever in their part of the world again, we shall definitely stay with them. Parking was on site and we even made use of their garden swing where we would plan our route for the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telavivjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
197
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel is just lovely. It's location is perfect as it is just ten minutes to either Bowness or Windermere on foot. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and Jane and Mark are exceptional hosts. They cant do enough for you and are always on hand with a sound bit of advice or a recommendation for something to do. The breakfasts are also great. There is a lot of choice and Mark is a great cook! :-) We stayed for 3 nights this August Bank Holiday weekend and would definitely go back. Were already recommending it to friends! x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Only stayed for 1 night.
Mark and Jane very helpful.
Location great. Situated in the middle of Windermere and Bowness with only a
10 minute walk to either.
Breakfast lovely.
Room spotless.Def stayed again when coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaggy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Mark and Jane are a lovely couple who know the walks and area well and will help their guests with anything they can. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast choice is good and all cooked superbly. A good location too so will certainly be visiting them again,

Room Tip: three bed room with ensuite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Jane and her husband should be very proud of their business. The service they give is warm and friendly and first class. I have visited the lake district many times and have stayed in some nice guest houses but this is the first I would return too. The room we had was immaculate and well furnished with a well proportioned ensuite. To say the kitchen was below our room we would never had guessed before making our way down to the dining room.

Well done Jane we will be back but next time with the kids!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.5 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.0 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbank Guest House

Property: Thornbank Guest House
Address: 4 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): $118 - $205
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornbank House is privately owned and run by Jane and Mark Hibbitt. We are just 10 minutes walk from Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, where there is a wide selection of shops and fabulous restaurants. We offer bed and breakfast with a personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thornbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbank Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing