We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel..stayed during diamond jub weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel..stayed during diamond jub weekend”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Hi Guys, i stayed at this place during the diamond jubilee weekend...
First of all, very nice and clean place. Amazing staff.. Staff is actually the best part. Very polite and helpful...
They made my trip a very relaxing one...

Room Tip: Room no 1 is great along the road side and nice tall green trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review if I recall that was a pretty hectic weekend for you. Pleased you enjoyed the Day tour it really is the Best way to see the Lake District when you are only hear for a short time, just a pity you had to leave your breakfast in a hurry we all wondered where you had gone. I will pass your comments on to the staff i am sure they will appreciate them. See you again soon we hope, but for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    198
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
96
359
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Spent 2 nights in room 13 last week. Lovely room; liked the little touch of the bottles of water and choccies with the towels.
The meal we had was very good; and bar prices quite reasonable.
Minor criticisms - only one pack of complimentary biscuits for the two nights we were there, and only brown sugar not the best for tea.
The 'rain' shower was more of a drizzle, but we had the use of the superb spa bath so wasn't a major problem. However, none of these issues affected our good stay.
Neighbours had to have their TV on at 6.30 each morning which was intrusive, but not the hotel's fault. Can't blame the hosts for inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you liked the room and the nice touches. Unfortunately the water and biscuits are complimentary on arrival only but they are of the best quality. We will endeavour to give the shower attention. Sorry about your noisy neighbours some of the older tv's dont have the limited noise level installed but we are replacing them. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent 2 nights here last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Romm was extremely comfortable with jacuzzi bath and breakfats to die for and of a very high standard. Because of poor weather we stayed and dined in the hotel the second night and wished now that we had done so on the first night too, evening meal was divine!! The hotel is clean and comfortable and the hosts extremely welcoming and staff friendly too. The hotel is convenient for both Windermere and Bowness. We shall definitely return for another visit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have returned from our perfect romantic break away at The Glenburn Hotel. We stayed for two nights and couldn't have asked for a better welcome, the special touches I requested were of a high quality and made the surprise even more special! The room was really nice, the jacuzzi bath was amazing and the four poster bed was very comfortable. The food we had was of a high standard and was delicious, we would recommend the steak and the salmon. The location was perfect and was within walking distance of the local bars and restaurants. We WILL be recommending The Glenburn Hotel to family and friends and anyone we speak to, we hope to return in the future. We can't understand why it only has a two star rating, when we think it should be more. This is a hidden gem in the lakes. Thank you Jackie and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, one word to describe this room is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Windermere is certainly the place to stay for a romatic weekend any time of the year and the little extras in the room made it perfect. Thank you for the fantastic review you appear to have enjoyed everything at The Glenburn and we look forward to seeing you both again for another romantic break in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and i have just returned from spending 2 nights at the Glenburn hotel. We had a lovely time, the hotel is convenient to get to both Windermere and to Bowness. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and the staff are very friendly with nothing too much trouble for them. The food is excellent, we enjoyed both breakfast and an evening meal. We would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
6.2 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
35.2 km away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
2.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Windermere

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): $153 - $247
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing