We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our Windermere Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Windermere Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

.My wife and I are both originally from Cambridge UK and now live in Pickering, ON. Canada.

This was my first trip to the Lake District (my Wife's second). We had stayed overnight in Bolton, Lancashire and then travelled on to Windermere. We did not have reservations at any location. After checking out two other places for accommodations we went to the Glenburn Hotel and met with the Owner who offered us complimentary coffee. We viewed the double room which met our expectations completely. The ensuite bathroom had been renovated with modern fixtures.

We decided to make dinner reservations and were able to select our requirements from the excellent menu. As well as my entree I chose a dessert pie that required an early selection since it was homemade. The wine menu although not extensive it provided us with a good bottle of Rioja.

The following morning we had the Full English breakfast (included in the room price) and it was excellent. Our waitress, Zuzana, was excellent in every respect during our dinner and breakfast.

We would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone visiting the Windermere area because of it's convenient location as a base for sightseeing and the quality of accommodation, food and service.

Jean & Keith Ward

Room Tip: Book early so as not to be disappointed since the Glenburn appears to be a very popular place to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hello hope you are both well you are probably back in Canada by now. It was nice to meet you both and you did catch me unawares in the lounge shoes off resting my tired feet eating my yoghurt...... I was so pleased you saw the funny side. I will pass your nice comments to Suzi she will be delighted as she has only been with us a short while. Thank you again see you next time you come back to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    186
    33
    14
    16
See reviews for
92
328
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had gone to Glenburn with my wife and daughter and stayed there for 3 nights. Glenburn is fantastically placed between the city of Windermere and Bowness. , this makes it a very convenient spot to either go towards the lake or towards the city center.
The hotel is a beautiful place to stay, don't expect a lavish place, but it is a very cosy and comfortable space, It is clearly seen that the idea of the owners to give the best of service to the customer, has percolated down to the staff also. The staff is limited, but very cheerful and always ready to help. In fact the day we were to check out, the staff took an extra effort to open the kitchen early and give us the breakfast.
The owners are also very friendly and always eager to help. The rooms are nice and comfortable, We stayed in room no 14 and it was a real good experience. The breakfast is good and has a decent variety to offer.
The hotel provides free WiFi, but the range is not very strong, in some ways it is good, as it allows you to enjoy the beauty of the place. If you ask me, then Glenburn is the place to stay in Windermere at a value for money cost and some really amazing staff

Room Tip: There are some really good rooms on the second floor, if only a couple is going, for three people, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitladha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hello how are you it was so nice for me to spend a little time with you looking at the trees and shrubs in the garden and the weather was so beautiful you could not have picked a better time to visit the Lake District. Yes it is a very enchanting place we are very lucky to live in such beautiful surroundings. We hope one day you will come and stay with us again. Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Glenburn what a fantastic place to stay .The room was very clean ,warm and welcoming.The staff are kind friendly and helpful and the food also fantastic.We had a wonderful time thanks to everybody at the Glenburn .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Wonderfull review thank you. Congratulations for reaching 25 years you should be very proud of yourselves that is a great achievement nowadays. Still very much Mr Romantic treating you to all those little extras in the room. Hope you visit us again to celebrate many more aniversaries. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Warm welcome, very cheerful and lovely staff, greatly decorated room and very good breakfast. Its location between Windermere and Bowness is perfect for walking to each. A bonus is the free entry to the local leisure centre with access to the pool, the sauna and the jacuzzi. We also really appreciated the fact that we could leave our car in the hotel car park after checking out at 10:30am. That allowed us to go on a wonderful bike ride around the Lake. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was such a lovely morning on Sunday and perfect for a bike ride. Thank you for your lovely comments I will pass them on to the staff. Look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

we spent mon. to fri at the hotel it was warm and the bedroom we were given was quiet with a very comfortable bed and a good shower we booked for dinner on the monday night and the food was good and well cooked, the staff were attentive and pleasant, there was a lovely bar and lounge but sadly the bar was unattended so consequently no drinks unless you rang a bell and waited for someone to come from the kitchen or reception, as you can imagine this did nothing to encourage anyone to book a meal for a second night, our choice would have been a more welcoming bar and a bit more input by the owners who left at the earliest possible moment, to go home, leaving the hotel to be run by it's young foreign staff

Room Tip: rooms to the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizzy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your review although a little disapointed by your commments. Monday and Tuesday is staff day's off. My husband cooks breakfast hence he is there from 7.30am until 2pm. I take over at 2pm and I cook dinner which I did so that evening... thank you for the compliments on my cooking. I leave the hotel at 10pm most evenings to drive home and my receptionist is there to serve drinks until the last person leaves the bar so I think we put a couple of good shifts in between us and do not rush off as it was put. I believe on the third day we made polite conversation with the guests in reception as my husband and I were redecorating a guest room hence another long day. Quite often guests go out and return after 11pm expecting to drink until all hours with no respect for the staff who have to be up at the crack of dawn to serve their breakfast. and then forget their key and get the staff out of bed at 3am to let them in. We all work hard at The Glenburn. My husband and I are here 6 days out of 7 to greet our guests and to ensure everything runs smoothly. We are a highly respected hotel not a 24hr truckstop and respect should be given to the staff and other guests staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
3.6 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.2 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#3 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#13 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): $116 - $248
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed non smoking hotel with free leisure facilities, just 5 minutes walk from Windermere, new deluxe rooms with jacuzzi spa baths & rain showers, four poster beds, family rooms, self catering cottages, free parking, great restaurant & bar, just totally refubished to a high standard, outstanding in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, LateRooms, Booking.com, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing