We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
1,200
133
48
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,200
133
48
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub ultimate luxury round bed potter suite luxury room double bath mood lighting owners and staff fillet steak high standard coffee machine both nights lake district spa bath fabulous hotel the wow factor wedding anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

From the moment we stepped through the front door we knew we had made a good choice for our weekend stay to celebrate my wife's BIG birthday.
Applegarth Villa oozes quality and didn't disappoint in any respect, room 11 was beautifully appointed and the bathroom was superb.
The bar/restaurant had a very comfortable relaxing atmosphere and the service was second to none, with lovely food caringly presented.

Special mention to Luke who was our waiter who was very polite & courteous and even managed to take some decent photographs of us to mark the occasion

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chaffy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you so much for choosing Applegarth for such a special occasion as a BIG birthday! We are delighted to hear how much you both enjoyed your stay and that Luke's dodgy photographic skills came good in the end ! Hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

My wife and I have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this hotel and restaurant. From a warm welcome to wonderful food cooked exactly to our liking this family run hotel has had a lot of thought put into it. The rooms reflect the sometimes quirky touch of the owners but are nonetheless comfortable, clean and well-thought out. There is a wide collection of wines and whiskies on offer at the bar and plenty of places to take in the view or read a book. The ONLY reason I have not given an excellent score is that we stayed in superior room 19 which was directly under the reception and bar areas. Unfortunately I am a very light sleeper and when anyone walked on the beautiful wooden floor boards it sounded like a herd of elephants on the rampage. I would be happy to revisit but to stay on an upper floor.
The menu is sensibly limited but with sufficient choice to please most discerning diners. It is understandably renowned in the area and, I suspect, wider afield for its cuisine.
A wonderful stay with charming hosts whose hospitality should not be abused. Recommended

Room tip: Avoid room 19 if you are a light sleeper
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ciaran32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your recent stay with us. We have many types of rooms all at different tariffs. Your room was booked as a gift for you and possibly, being such a light sleeper, would not have been the room you would have chosen for yourselves, We very much hope to welcome you both back to Applegarth in the future and will endeavour to ensure the right room is chosen for your requirements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We stayed at Applegarth for 2 nights in September as part of our break in the Lakes. This hotel is definitely worth a visit! We stayed in one of the beautiful suites (Great How) which didn’t disappoint - beautiful room with balconies and hot tub. Clearly no expense spared! The food in the restaurant was also excellent with a team of staff who were helpful, polite and attentive without being fussy. Applegarth has a lovely ‘family run’ feel, and the owners are a lovely couple, very welcoming, helpful and easy to talk to. Great location to explore some of the best that the Lake District has to offer. Would definitely return to Applegarth!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tmlWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you so much for your overwhelming kindness. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Applegarth and now that you have found us we very much hope to see you both again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had booked into the Broadcrag Suite as a treat to ourselves and it did not disappoint. Our welcome upon check in was friendly and welcoming. We were then taken to our suite and shown around all the features, hot tub and coffee machine being high on our list. The room was beautifully presented with a gorgeous view making our stay wonderful. The breakfast had a very good choice with polite, friendly service and again, great views from the conservatory. We had dinner on the first night and like the rest of the experience, did not disappoint. The bar area is very friendly and well stocked, especially if you enjoy your whisky!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philiphP6201TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Lovely to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially on such a special occasion as your wedding anniversary.It would be lovely to see you both for your next anniversary,if not before

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Applegarth for an impromptu weekend away 7th to 9th September and cannot speak highly enough about the hotel. This was our first visit having somehow never discovered the place before. The moment we arrived we experienced that ‘feeling’ you get when you feel at home and relaxed. The owners and staff have managed to give their guests a luxury feel but without the pretentious feel you can sometimes get from luxury hotels.
Check in was a breeze and off we went to our room to unpack and prepare for our pre-booked evening meal. The room was a deluxe and perfect for our needs, immaculately clean and superbly decorated, someone has a fantastic eye. Our evening meal was superb, compliments to the chef. Afterwards we retired to the lounge bar to have a couple of drinks before bed.
Breakfast the next morning was really good, well organised and had all manner of choices.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and polite and enhanced our stay. We are both terrible at remembering names so apologies for no particular mentions, but we could not fault anybody that served or assisted us during our stay, they are a credit to the hotel.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, so much so we have booked to return over Christmas.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank travellerwirral_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApplegarthVilla, Owner at Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, especially your kind words regarding our wonderful staff who we are so very proud of. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you will be back between Christmas and New Year. See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews