We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare to stay here.”
Review of Craig Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craig Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I had reserved my bookings with family (2 adults and 2 children) a month in advance to ensure we get the desired rooms. The pics and view from the rooms were impressive till we landed and realized all this was a mirage. We had travelled all the way from Mumbai (India) and were looking forward for the vacation. The rooms were very very small and to compound our problems, we were given a room facing the road. Neither did we have a view nor the space. Intact we couldnt sleep the entire night due to frequent traffic or conversations of people walking by. There were 2 tiny beds and while one accommodated my wife and younger daughter (aged 3), the other one was used by my elder daughter (aged 8). I had no options but to use the floor for 2 nights. While I paid 225 pounds to sleep on the floor, what frustrated me is that the hotel was immune to the requirments we made. Very dissapointing, one leg of my vacatian that i would like to forget and would urge that if you are with a family, please refrain from using this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
24  Thank Mahesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 451 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Staff was very helpful, room comfortable, food excellent and reasonably priced. Had a very enjoyable time there. The views were excellent and they had plenty of space to just laze about. The shower was tiny but the water pressure was terrific. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimCarmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The rooms are very comfortable but the major plus is the large area for relaxation on the ground floor of the hotel, which includes a very good restaurant. We eat out for the first three nights but when we tried the restaurant for the first time we wished we had eat in every night. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The large lounge areas made it very easy to get to know other guests

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonE5695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Bought a voucher from kgb deals to stay here but don't think I'd pay full price for it. First thing - you do not get a lake view as advertised!! Our room was basic but ok - the shower was excellent!! Breakfast was also very good. Just a short walk down to Lake Windermere and also a short walk to nearby Windermere. The hotel bar does not take payment by debit or credit card so be sure to have cash on you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank polythenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Not bad, not bad! Would say that our stay here was good! Booked a cheeky DBB here for good Friday, the room was disappointing, very small and noisy, however clean! Dinner and breakfast was lovely, and service fantastic! The downstairs of the hotel was tastefully decorated, and asked if we would stay again then the answer would be yes, but with a different room!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melistockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
1.4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Windermere

Been to Craig Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Manor Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Windermere
#14 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $145 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Craig Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Manor Windermere
Hotel Craig Manor
Craig Manor Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing