We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
611
116
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
116
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu hot tub dry ice ren toiletries pre dessert michelin star matching wines afternoon tea coffee machine wine flight petit fours junior suite special occasion truffle stunning views head chef lake district
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just to say how much we (a group of friends) enjoyed our afternoon tea yesterday and how we now can't wait to try out the hotel itself for a stay. The service was friendly and attentive, the food, teas and champagne were lovely and the location offered us a great view down the lake, even on a characteristically drizzly day in the Lakes.
It was a bit of leisurely luxury. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at The Samling for two nights after our wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect! We stayed in the Methera suite and enjoyed idyllic views across the lake. We had dinner in their restaurant both evenings and was one of the best culinary experiences we've had! If they are not awarded a Michelin Star next year, it would be a travesty!
We were lucky enough to have Tom looking after us both evenings during dinner. He was charming, friendly and full of knowledge. He clearly has a passion for what he does and it shines through.
Last but by no means least, thank you to George for making us feel very welcome and at home from the second we arrived.
Did I mention the hot tub?! - FABULOUS!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I can honestly say I had one of my best ever birthday's, and was fortunate to spend it at the samling, it was fabulous, the whole team were exceptional,and made the whole experience truely delightful, there attentiveness was above and beyond and the food was really wonderful, one of my favourite places in the world....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

From the welcome we received on arrival, the superb lake view from our room, the way tea was served as we enjoyed that view, the champagne we drank before dinner and then the dinner itself - wow it was all such a superb experience!

I should emphasise that dinner was a gastronomic delight with delightfully attentive service and this was repeated the following morning at breakfast.

All the staff were young but all were superbly trained and were an absolute credit to themselves and The Samling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in the Lethera suite for 2 nights at the start of summer, on a Mr and Mrs Smith deal. The room was on 3 levels; the bedroom on a mezzanine level. Breakfast was brought to us in the morning to eat in our suite as standard, which was amazing. The food was great, although I would recommend ordering quite a bit as fairly small portions! The bathroom was amazing; really big and plush. The only negatives are the creaky stairs in the room (middle of the night bathroom trips are likely to wake the other person up) and how how it was in the night (ridiculously hot!). Enjoyable though, and Ambleside has some nice cafes and restaurants too and is a 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews