We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked this hotel through Living Social and would have to say it surpassed all of our expectations.
The owners were so friendly and attentive wothout being intrusive.Restaurant was superb and again service great, all the little touches that do make a difference like small handmade chocoltaes in the room, tea, coffee making and great biscuits, nibbles served before dinner in the lounge whilst having a lovely relaxing drink. They have it just right and hopefully it will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you very much for such a great review, its always rewarding to hear that we are getting it right. We will ensure we keep working hard to maintain these standards and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel looks amazing on first sight, it's well presented and very warm on entering it.Imediately on entering , a warm smile and greeting was most gratefully recieved.
The room was beautifully kept, clean comfortable and imaculatly presented , nothing was missing, warmth inviting tea making facilities and biscuits chocolates the whole luxury going on.
At meal times it was first class treatment from the girls who delightfully served us hand and foot...nothing was too big or too small to please our every whim.
Johnathon the manager and owner was a delight as was his wife Catherine, they both offered warmth and valuable information of the area and also of the story of Betrix Potter who was historically famous in this area....thank you for our lovely stay and we shall certainly come again and again....joyce and Ebrima Ceesay...

Room Tip: ...upgrade if possible, it was well worth the extra few ponds for the added room....
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyceesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you Joyce and Ebrima for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for a two night break on a Living Social voucher. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome. We got a very warm welcome from Caroline and Jonathan and were taken to our room and shown the menu for the evening meal that we were kindly booked in for as part of our deal. The room was great with a wonderful view of the lake district. The hotel is elegantly decorated in a very comfortable way. Both Caroline and Jonathan ensure you have everything you need and can very informatively recommend places to visit in the area and walks you can take. The waiting staff were always on hand and nothing was too much bother. We really felt welcomed and looked after and I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere in the Windermere district. Many thanks to Caroline and Jonathan and all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to help you find your way around.
There are some lovely places to visit and we really enjoy sharing our knowledge with all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Beautiful location, owners very friendly and attentive, lovely room, newly decorated bathroom with whirlpool...in short, cannot be faulted. Go there - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your break and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in the coach house, for a 50th birthday treat and had a fantastic time. Caroline and Jonathan were sooo lovely as were the other staff.The food was to die for, The hotel and restaurant was gorgeous and the lodge was WOW!! We would love to back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you very much for choosing the Coach House at Cedar Manor to celebrate your 50th. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to come and treat yourselves again soon.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
2.6 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
6.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
1.3 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Windermere

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $240 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing