We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed at the Holbeck for one night, on the Dinners Delight Package.
On arrival we were taken around the hotel, and shown the various lounges, dining room and Spa. We were then taken to our room, and shown all the facilities in there. We thought that this was a very personnel touch, and made us feel exceptionally welcome.
Our room was a Lake View room - with a view to die for!!
Didn't want to leave this fabulous room, but forced ourselves to go downstairs for afternoon tea.
Luckily the sun had come out, so we sat in the lovely warm weather on the Terrace eating the most fantastic sandwiches and cakes and looking at a most fantastic view. Life could not get any better.
However life did get even better when we went down for our evening meal. Had canopies and a glass of champagne in one of the lounges, and sat in the bay-window overlooking the most fantastic view as the sun started to set. The canopies were fabulous.
The service in the dining room was extremely professional, and pleasant. The meal was awesome, and just as good as the other Michelin Star restaurants that we have been to. One recommendation that I would have is to have the Lemon Plate for dessert - this was just out of this world.
Afterwards we had petite fours and coffee in the lounge, before retiring to our room.
We will definitely be returning to this wonderful place, and would recommend anyone to stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lake View Rooms are out of this world with the most fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandHolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

You are so right... the terrace is the best place to be when the sun is out, glad that you got to experience it. Thank you for the great review, it akes the Diners Delight package sound just as it should - great value for money. I am delighted that the team looked after you - try Lionels Cherry Clafoutis on your next visit, even better than his Lemon plate!

Once again, thanks for taking the time to review us.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,029 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have fond memories of holidays at Windermere even if it did always seem to rain! On this visit the weather was wonderful and the views of the lake from our room were spectacular. The food was wonderful and the restaurant deserves it's Michelin star.

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and it was very cozy and comfortable. My only quibble would be that the exterior areas need some TLC they let the hotel down

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theenglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are all delighted that you were able to re-live happy memories....as welll as getting sunshine! Dave and I are glad that you enjoyed the food as well.

Regarding the exteriors, we are busy painting and refurbishing when the weather allows. We are alos installing garden lighting, which at the moment, does leave a few pile of dirt around - but it will be worth it in the long run!

Once again thank you for your comments.


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Beautiful setting, lovely welcome from the staff. The wood panelled entrance hall and stained glass is stunning. The room was very comfortable with access on to a terrace with a lovely view of the lake. The bathroom was top notch, and absolutely spotless. Could have spent the whole stay in there really! Bed huge and comfortable. There was some noise from the kitchen extractor, but this was switched off when service was finished.

Our main reason for the stay (part of our mini 'Trip') was the food, and maybe my comments are due to having eaten at L'Enclume the day before. But I don't think this food is Michelin. It was great quality and lovely flavours, but there was no innovation and nothing I hadn't had before at other places, done equally well or better but with no star (see my review of Hipping Hall). Granted, the staff are charming, the dining room again has the wood panelling and the views are romantic. But I was a little disappointed.

Breakfast was tasty with a good range of cooked and cold choices - I had a huge portion of porridge and then smoked haddock and poached egg with obligatory foam.

The place is very old school and traditional (nothing wrong with that) and so are most of the guests. An oddly jarring note was the blingy Holbeck Ghyll helicopter that buzzed in a couple of times. We had a wonderful time, but weirdly I'm not sure I would go again. I think there might be better options to explore (Sharrow Bay??)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are all delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. With regard to the food, Dave and I take on board your comments. However, as mentioned before, to compare restaurants with stars is like to compare films; the stars represent restaurants which are considered by Michelin to be the best on their class. Films belong to different genres as do restaurants. Comparing Star Wars, Gone with the Wind and Clockwork Orange is a case in point - they are all good films but very different in content. Hope this helps!

In the meantime, we do hope that you do come and see us again.

With all good wishes


Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

From the moment you arrive the staff are excellent and very attentive. Our lake view room was very well appointed and had a large bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was firm but very comfortable. The pre-dinner drinks are served in the lounge with canapes provided. The dinner menu is small but very interesting and there is a taster menu for the larger appetites. The staff ensured that wine and water were served as required and the dishes were presented in a very interesting way. Coffee in the lounge continued the relaxing atmosphere. The breakfasts were also good with a great choice of hot dishes. The only negative was no swimming pool but the spa offered all the treatments required.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinclair45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Sinclair 45, we love you - what a great review, thank you very much. There is no swimming pool - at the moment! We do have plans for one - so who knows!

So glad you enjoyed it - do let us know when you are coming back!

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Holbeck Ghyll and came back smiling from ear to ear and also gained a couple of pounds.
Fantastic staff, fabulous old world rooms with every modern amenity and terrific food. To add to that the most spectacular location in Windereme/ Ambleside. The lake is a mere 5 minute walk!
Tom Cross, Chris, Paula and the Hungarioan Italian barman whose name slips my mind are warm, hospitable and extremely kind to children's needs.
We will treasure our time at HG and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Al rooms come with a spectacular but the one's facing the lake are a cut above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Surve,

You were a pleasure to look after, Roberto forgives you for forgetting his name as you were so lovely! I have pinned you comments to the staff notice board and the guys you mentioned are bursting with pride!

When you are back in the UK - make sure to come back and bring a ray of sunshine!

With all good wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.4 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
3.8 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
3.5 km away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: AU$265 - AU$392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing