We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveller rating
811
265
106
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
265
106
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild boar feature room copper bath smoke house scotch egg micro brewery clay pigeon shooting pigs in blankets pork scratchings smoked steak mad pig afternoon tea real ale luxury room evening meal sister hotel open fire
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We were a group that booked the wild boar for our staff Christmas party outing. We started the afternoon with some clay paigon shooting in the wild boar woodland with Mike Coates then had a party back at the hotel with dinner in the amazing Undermillbeck function room hidden away but really special.The staff was really helpful, attentive and friendly.thank you and well done

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AvantiKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear AvantiKL
Thanks for a great review and it was nice to meet you all!
Pleas don't hesitate to get back in contact should you be planning another party in the future!
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We chose & booked this hotel as our Christmas present to ourselves. Do what it says in the car park (leave luggage in the car) as reception is down a couple of levels at the other entrance due to the hotel being set into a hillside. So you won't want to drag it all the way back up the stairs again depending where your room is. Excellent welcome from reception & adjacent bar staff. So we sat & had a cozy little drink & left the luggage in the car. Room ticks all my boxes when you have access to Ringtons selection of beverage products, free bottled water & White Company toiletries. Impressed with beautifully laundered bath towels that wrap around the fuller figure. A very clean, comfortable, cosy, quiet bedroom which is always a must for me. Breakfast was also excellent with nice touches of waiting service. We enjoyed our Cumbrian breakfast with toast & tea. We also had an evening meal after we arrived. Again a lovely welcome from 'front of house' staff who showed us to our table after we ordered our food. Speciality of meats off the grills looks very good but because of OUR 'pet hate' of having steak served on wooden boards we opted for the fish choices. They were beautifully cooked & we well presented. We aren't into this cheffy theatricals just well cooked produce. All in all a lovely & friendly hotel in a great location.

Date of stay: January 2018
2  Thank sandraH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear sandra H
Many thanks for such a lovely review - we will of course serve our steaks on plates upon request but, as you mention, generally these are served on our wooden boards - we like to think that this isn't a case of following a 'trend' in this regard as we put this in place some years ago and are known for this style of presentation. However, we would always want to meet our guests' expectations, so please don't hesitate to ask on a future visit!
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Quirky rooms and food excelllent.
Love exploring the woodland at the side of the hotel, very relaxed atmosphere.
Great selection of wine and beers. Stayed a few times and will book again in the future
Not far from Kendal and main part of Windermere and Bowness great walking country

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pammy811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Pammy811
Thank you for a great review,
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wild Boar Inn very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Read many good reviews about this establishment and even my close neighbours who are very good friends gave it a glowing report! So decided to book to celebrate our daughters birthday with her and her husband and baby.. booking an overnight stay and evening meal.
The inn accommodation is very nice and cosy log fires in the bar area give it a very homely feel, but unfortunately we can’t say the same for our eating experience... we ordered what we thought would be simple dishes off the menu three steaks and a couscous salad as the fourth, the meals eventually came after what seemed like an eternity.. one steak which was the medium to well done was fine although slightly pink and the couscous was ok as well.. the other two steak meals that were supposed to be medium rare looked like they had been left on the grill to char and had been well and truly cremated... obviously these were sent back and we were told by the head waitress a fifteen minute wait ensued... which turned out to be nearly another hour!! By this time the first two meals had been well finished.. we were offered a round of drinks as an apology.
Sorry to say but we felt the food was not up to the standards we expected!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear JanandChriseHealey
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Wild Boar.
I was sorry to read of the issues encountered whilst dining and please accept my apologies for this.
I will of course share your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This inn features in the great inns of England book and lives up to its name. We did initially have a few issues the first time we stayed but they more than made up for it on our second trip.

The restaurant is pretty much fine dining, it's quite the find.

If you have time do the wild boar walk at the back of the hotel do it. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank CountrytoCountry616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear CountrytoCountry16
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and I was pleased to read that this proved so enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you back to The Wild Boar Inn very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews