We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
USD 199
USD 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 267
USD 259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway At Windermere(Windermere)
USD 184
USD 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 380
USD 369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 215
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
USD 248
USD 240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
USD 160
USD 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
USD 194
USD 189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Windermere Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 105
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
777
247
93
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
777
247
93
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild boarfeature roomcopper bathsmoke housescotch eggclay pigeon shootingmicro brewerypigs in blanketssmoked steakpork scratchingsbaked alaskamad pigafternoon teareal aleluxury roomevening mealopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We were a group that booked the wild boar for our staff Christmas party outing. We started the afternoon with some clay paigon shooting in the wild boar woodland with Mike Coates then had a party back at the hotel with dinner in the amazing Undermillbeck function room hidden away but really special.The staff was really helpful, attentive and friendly.thank you and well done

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AvantiKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear AvantiKL
Thanks for a great review and it was nice to meet you all!
Pleas don't hesitate to get back in contact should you be planning another party in the future!
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We chose & booked this hotel as our Christmas present to ourselves. Do what it says in the car park (leave luggage in the car) as reception is down a couple of levels at the other entrance due to the hotel being set into a hillside. So you won't want to drag it all the way back up the stairs again depending where your room is. Excellent welcome from reception & adjacent bar staff. So we sat & had a cozy little drink & left the luggage in the car. Room ticks all my boxes when you have access to Ringtons selection of beverage products, free bottled water & White Company toiletries. Impressed with beautifully laundered bath towels that wrap around the fuller figure. A very clean, comfortable, cosy, quiet bedroom which is always a must for me. Breakfast was also excellent with nice touches of waiting service. We enjoyed our Cumbrian breakfast with toast & tea. We also had an evening meal after we arrived. Again a lovely welcome from 'front of house' staff who showed us to our table after we ordered our food. Speciality of meats off the grills looks very good but because of OUR 'pet hate' of having steak served on wooden boards we opted for the fish choices. They were beautifully cooked & we well presented. We aren't into this cheffy theatricals just well cooked produce. All in all a lovely & friendly hotel in a great location.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear sandra H
Many thanks for such a lovely review - we will of course serve our steaks on plates upon request but, as you mention, generally these are served on our wooden boards - we like to think that this isn't a case of following a 'trend' in this regard as we put this in place some years ago and are known for this style of presentation. However, we would always want to meet our guests' expectations, so please don't hesitate to ask on a future visit!
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Quirky rooms and food excelllent.
Love exploring the woodland at the side of the hotel, very relaxed atmosphere.
Great selection of wine and beers. Stayed a few times and will book again in the future
Not far from Kendal and main part of Windermere and Bowness great walking country

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pammy811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Pammy811
Thank you for a great review,
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wild Boar Inn very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Read many good reviews about this establishment and even my close neighbours who are very good friends gave it a glowing report! So decided to book to celebrate our daughters birthday with her and her husband and baby.. booking an overnight stay and evening meal.
The inn accommodation is very nice and cosy log fires in the bar area give it a very homely feel, but unfortunately we can’t say the same for our eating experience... we ordered what we thought would be simple dishes off the menu three steaks and a couscous salad as the fourth, the meals eventually came after what seemed like an eternity.. one steak which was the medium to well done was fine although slightly pink and the couscous was ok as well.. the other two steak meals that were supposed to be medium rare looked like they had been left on the grill to char and had been well and truly cremated... obviously these were sent back and we were told by the head waitress a fifteen minute wait ensued... which turned out to be nearly another hour!! By this time the first two meals had been well finished.. we were offered a round of drinks as an apology.
Sorry to say but we felt the food was not up to the standards we expected!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear JanandChriseHealey
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Wild Boar.
I was sorry to read of the issues encountered whilst dining and please accept my apologies for this.
I will of course share your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This inn features in the great inns of England book and lives up to its name. We did initially have a few issues the first time we stayed but they more than made up for it on our second trip.

The restaurant is pretty much fine dining, it's quite the find.

If you have time do the wild boar walk at the back of the hotel do it. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank CountrytoCountry616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear CountrytoCountry16
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and I was pleased to read that this proved so enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you back to The Wild Boar Inn very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews