We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 73
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Priceline
USD 82
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
Agoda.com
USD 72
View deal
Booking.comUSD 82
Trip.comUSD 74
eDreamsUSD 82
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
395
307
166
91
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
395
307
166
91
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog towels this hotel caters swimming pool dog friendly hotel wet room lovely hotel buffet style the main hotel evening meal one night stay view of the lake my partner lake district weekend break enjoyable stay family room lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

We have been to the Windermere/Bowness area a few times now and stayed at various hotels but this one stands out above them all.
We booked the king room and were not disappointed, great sized room , amazing views and spotless, we even had a balcony.
Staff were friendly and helpful and on point with everything covid related.
We had a meal and although not a massive choice ( reduced due to covid) it was warm ,well cooked and a great portion size. They had meat , fish and vegetarian options so excellent with everything else that's happening !!
Breakfast was again excellent and staff helpful and attentive.
All in all Hotel , staff and location were second to none . We will be back and it's now our mainstay when down in the Lakes

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thank you for your kind and positive review and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as yours. I will certainly pass this onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

Given the absolutely lovely setting and building, this hotel has been let down by its interior decor. Needs a complete refurb. We had a family room with a metal bunk bed that creaked all night. We could here every conversation and footstep of the family in the room above all night.

Walls, doors and carpets just looked dirty. No sanitiser in the dispensers. Waiter was serving with a ripped face mask. Dining facilities were awful.

Staff were lovely but the whole place smelled and looked a bit like an old folks home.

Disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mrsngrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed. The dispensers are check three times per day so I am surprised if they were empty but I have checked them and made sure they are full. The public areas have just been refurbished so I can only apologise if not to your liking.

I can only apologise that things were not to your liking and thank you for taking the time to review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

My title says it all

We booked a room with a patio in the annex and loved it.

Having a patio was great for us, large, clean and comfortable room suited us perfectly

The hotel is dog friendly and the free run area and meeting them in the dining room made it really homely

The only reasons for dropping a star were the lack of WiFi in the annex and the breakfast. One toaster which could end up with a queue and the plated breakfast which was the same for everyone

Definitely stay here again

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments and honesty and I am pleased you had a good stay. Re the wifi, that is something that is currently being upgraded and changed as our current provider has let us down and hopefully should be fully sorted in the next couple of weeks. The breakfast is normally a full buffet, but due to regulations is a set breakfast from the kitchen at present.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and while it wasn’t awful it really wasn’t that good either especially for how expensive it was.
The pool is freezing cold (not heated) and the room it’s in needs a bit of a scrub/tidy up so while that’s no complaint on the hotel it is something to bear in mind if the pool is something that’s swaying your decision to book (as it did for us).
The room is okay, it’s clean enough but there are some spots that aren’t clean (cobwebs all over the window inside) - not exactly ideal with Covid but the bathroom was quite clean so not a huge problem. The room is really tired looking and dated. Tie back for curtains have literally been pulled out the wall at some point and even the cheap looking painting has slid down in its frame. Furniture is all plain cheap pine stuff that serves it’s purpose but does need refreshing.
Bed was nice and soft and comfy and the hotel provided a travel cot that was clean and tidy also.
Main areas of hotel desperately need someone to look at the creaking floorboards and a new carpet (which is ripped and re-patched in several areas).
The guy on reception during check in was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast staff were polite (but definitely not too happy to be at work ) breakfast was nice enough but the portions were tiny (1 sausage and literally 1 small scoop of beans). Breakfast is also served at 8am which was a little late for us personally as we are early risers.
The lake is about 10min walk away, Bownes is around 30min away and Windermere town is about 20min away.

Overall not a horrid hotel but probably only worth around £50 a night.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amybY1458YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback and clearly we are sorry for any short comings. I am not sure the problem with the pool as it is heated and is at a steady 31c so there should not have been an issue and I can only apologise. I have taken on board the other points you mentioned and where required we will certainly deal with these.
Thank you for taking the time to review and we do hope to be of service to you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Anyone complaining about this place must be crazy. Was a lovely hotel, a staff were friendly and it certainly done the job for me and my friend. Didn’t get to use the pool unfortunately but I’m sure that was great too.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andyw211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for your kind review, its always great to get positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews