We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, ancient, fascinating, great vibes!”

Review of Morland House

Morland House (front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden) Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden)
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Admiral's Room
General's Room
Archbishop's Room
Geographer's Room
Landing Library
Back Landing
Games Room
Back Hall
Kitchen
Wooden Bridge (in garden)
Engineer's Room
Explorer's Room
Canon's Room
Colonel's Room
Minna's Room
Front Stairs
Inner Hall
Outer Hall
Looking along the beck in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
newbyfg
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, ancient, fascinating, great vibes!”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Apart from our love of this amazing house and gardens, walking in the area (6 to 9 miles average) was pleasurable and varied. One walk ended at the chocolate factory, shop and cafe in Orton, highly recommended! We also enjoyed time at Acorn Bank, on the Ullswater steamer cruise and Larch Cottage Nurseries and Garden Centre.
We felt privileged to be allowed to stay in this clearly well loved family home and are already in the process of booking again. There is so much still to do in the area and parts of the house and gardens still to explore. Freddy was so pleased that we loved the house, which says it all really. Many thanks, Freddy and staff.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thanks, Gill and Eric, and delighted you have booked again for next year.
Freddy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teebs88
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for large family get away!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was our second family get away to Morland House, it can sometimes be difficult somewhere big enough to cater for 18 people plus a dog but Morland House is perfect for us and I think the only place we have gone to for a second year!

The house is huge and there's lots to explore, books, paintings and information on the family that lived there. as well as a games room with a pool table and darts board. We never encountered any issues with hot water/electricity or other issues you might expect with an older house and it was very well heated the entire time! Wifi connection was also really good throughout and the house was very clean.

The grounds surrounding are really nice and also fun to walk round and explore and there's a cafe and pub close by if you want to go out, but I spent all my time in the house.

All 18 of us enjoyed our time there with no complaints (which is really a genuine miracle in my family) and hopefully we will be back again in future!

:)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect house for our friends 50th Celebration”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful family home near Penrith is the best find ever. With everything you could image for cooking. Plenty of wine Glass, (a must) and crockery for everyone. Stunning art work on the walls and lovely old furniture and comfy sofas. Freddy (the owner) Couldn't have been more helpful and even the dogs could stay. Jane was helpful making sure we had settled in ok and helped Judith who came in and cooked a superb 3 course dinner with coffee afterwards for our Adults murder mystery night. A perfect place to host this event. With a pub and brewery down the road and cafe which does amazing Pizza take away (on friday nights).

The house gardens are stunning and the house is lovely and warm, the open fire in the lounge is welcoming after a long day out. The kitchen area is huge and sometimes all 15 of us were in there and seemed plenty of space. We also liked the fact there was no television in the best Lounge as you then have conversations with the friends. There are 2 televisions if you want one. 1 in the games room ( a must for the kids) and 1 in the snug.

I am trying to sort dates for next year Freddy so will be in touch. Thank you again for letting us use your beautiful home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a large party”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable large house for a large party
It has everything you need plus all the extras stated on the other posts
The wi-wi is very strong but there is no phone signal at all which wasn't a problem for me
Make sure you lite the fire in the large room and kitchen, it makes it so much more comfy
We had a full Christmas Day with our friends on the Saturday, turkey dinner with all the trimmings- something you only tend to do with your family on Xmas day. Great to wear our Christmas jumpers in November too
The only downside was the pub opposite the Manor House, it was awful..
They open when they want, hardly ever anyone in there. We had a meal booked on the Sunday night, again we where on our own so no atmosphere at all. We are not fussy eaters but they served up the worst food I personally have ever tasted..8 out of 10 plates went back half full
So in short, don't factor the Crown Inn in to your plans, it's not worth it
So get a large group or family together and go and enjoy Morland House
We did
Jay n Magz Moore
Formby

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history
Liked least: The local pub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sagalout2...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulously special”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend with my extended family ranging from teenagers to grandparents for a special birthday and all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Kitchen superbly equipped for large groups... 2 fridges, 2 freezers, double oven, large round kitchen table and all the cooking and eating utensils we could have wished for, including cafetières for the coffee lovers.
Rooms and house immaculately clean and comfortable. Very interesting and informative notices and displays of the history of the house, which is fascinating.
Playing croquet on the lawn and walking the river just added to the pleasure of our stay as did the roaring fires we lit. All logs provided and dried ready for use.
Wifi good. Mobile phone signal is not great, so if you need to rely on that, please ask the owner of its current status. Freddy is very helpful. Housekeeper gave us a courtesy call to check all was well and sorted out our hot water issue straight away.
No keys to worry about as the door has a key pad coded entry specific for your stay. P

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing