We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for lakes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cowshed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skyeheidi...
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal base for lakes”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for five nights in this lovely little cottage, it was very convenient for our sorties into the Lake District. Plenty of walks locally for our spaniel and close enough to walk into Penrith. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very convenient for everywhere we wanted to visit
Liked least: Our stay was to short
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed the Cowshed I hope you will come back one day.
Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseBar...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very homely.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My partner and I have recently returned from our stay at the Cowshed and had a marvellous time! The property is very homely and we felt very comfortable and cosy. It is clean and well presented throughout and has a lot of quirky details. I would highly recommend this property for a visit to the Lake District.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and that you had beautiful spring weather that week
Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniefrom...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My teenage daughter and I were visiting from Australia and stayed here from the end of November 2014 until end of January 2015 apart from one week over New Year. The property was very clean, warm and cosy with everything you could need or want provided.

There were some issues with the boiler however these were rectified with speed and little disruption to our holiday. The owners were very friendly and attentive when needed and always very prepared to help when needed.

My only niggle I found the mattress very hard and uncomfortable but a small price to pay to stay in such a convenient, cosy home away from home.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness, location and cleanliness
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review and sorry about the boiler but we now have a new one,as for the mattress you can't please everyone but if you had told me I could have provided a topper which could have helped thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dottyabou...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

...Stayed here for three nights and had an absolute wonderful time. Cottage was spotlessly clean and full of character, a real credit to the owners. Penrith town centre is a few minutes walk away with a good array of shops and places to eat and drink. Excellent base for touring about and so nice and cosy to come back to at the end of the day.....can recommend this property without any hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and excellent location
Liked least: Coming home !!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks I hope you will come back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed four nights and from booking which was easy to arriving all was as expected, excellent. We were well looked after. Rooms warm, cozy and spacious. Well placed for walking into Penrith and travelling out to Ullswater or Derwentwater etc. Highly recommended for couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality, decor and location to town
Liked least: occasional trafficnoise during the day but nothing to wake you
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing