We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home in the Lakes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Barn

The kitchen/dining area of the open plan kitchen/dining/living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen/dining area of the open plan kitchen/dining/living room
The sitting area of the open plan kitchen/dining/living room with French doors to patio Open plan kitchen/dining/living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The kitchen/dining area of the open plan kitchen/dining/living room
The sitting area of the open plan kitchen/dining/living room with French doors to patio
Open plan kitchen/dining/living room
The outside of characterful West Barn
Master bedroom with king size bed and feature beams
Zip and link bed can be a super king or twins
Cosy bunk room, a full height trundle can convert this to a triple room
Fancy a soak in this contemporary free-standing bath in the main bathroom?
You may prefer a powerful shower in the large enclosure of the main bathroom?
The downstairs shower room means no queing for the main bathroom!
Enclosed patio area
Study area on the landing, free wi-fi throughout the cottage
Detail of West Barn landing
West Barn is 1 of 3 exclusive, luxury holiday cottages in Salutation Yard, Skelton, Eden Valley
Salutation Yard is in the unspoilt Cumbrian village of Skelton
Salutation yard is a 3 minute stroll from the local pub, The Dog and Gun, serving good food
Salutation Yard in Skelton lies in the beautiful Eden Valley, Cumbria
The Northern Fells of the Lake District are close by. Blencathra is a 20 minute drive away
Plenty of lovely walks and bike rides can start from West Barn. Secure, dry store for your gear
Skelton village Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate F
2 reviews
“A home away from home in the Lakes”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a delightful one-week holiday at West Barn with our 3-month-old baby. Incredibly well-equipped for a holiday rental, comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean and perfectly positioned to explore the Lakes. Jane was a joy to deal with and a wealth of local knowledge. Even a couple of rainy days didn't dampen our stay - the perfect excuse to bunker down with newspapers (and wine!) at the lovely local pub and boardgames at the barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Many thanks for reviewing West Barn. We are so pleased to hear you had a great time. It was a delight to welcome you all and we look forward to you visiting again.
With warmest wishes,
Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twain0401
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing, beautiful”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A wonderful place to stay. Perfectly placed for the Lakes or even popping into Scotland. Everything you could possibly need is available and Jane and Duncan leave some treats too.
It was lovely to meet up with my parents and they were even able to bring their dog, he is 17 years old and they are loathe to leave him behind these days.
Wonderfully comfortable beds, plenty of space for us, and more.
Word of warning re the local pub, the dog and gun......If you want to eat there, make sure you book, it is tiny! We did go for a drink or too later in the week and they are really friendly.
We also recommend the boot and shoe pub in nearby greystoke.
I would definitely recommend this wonderful place, and hope to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for this review Tracey, it was great having you all as our guests and we very much hope to see you again.
With warmest wishes,
Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamSar...
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We love it here. Beautiful accommodation - clean, well furnished and modern. We've been five times now and we'll visit again soon. Thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for this review.
We are so pleased you had a great time.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back as our guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
1 review
“Wonderful place, highly recommended”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here as we were visiting family in Penrith and wanted to make a week of it.

The booking process was straightforward and Jane was happy to answer any questions we had.

We were planning to arrive late so this was not a problem and the welcome pack was very welcome. Waking up to the smell of fresh bread is great.

The property is excellently finished with good quality bedding and furnishings and had everything we needed.

Skelton is less than 10 mins from the motorway and we found it easily accessible to the local area, the lakes and beyond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the furnishings
Liked least: Underfloor heating provided background heat but downstairs bedroom could be a little cool.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahC83
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic accommodation, place to go for peace and quiet!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner, 1 year old son and I stayed in west barn at the start of May. It is one of, if not the nicest cottages we have ever stayed in. We were very comfortable here and had everything we needed. Jane kindly organised for a high chair and travel cot to be set up for our arrival which is a lovely touch and saved us the hassle of packing these large items. The cottage itself is decorated beautifully and has everything you need. I particularly enjoyed the roll top bath in the upstairs bathroom. The dining area was another favourite feature. I left behind my charger and Jane returned it hassle free also. We are looking forward to returning in future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing