We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely 60th birthday weekend celebration”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of East Byre

Master bedroom with en-suite shower room and king size bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom with en-suite shower room and king size bed
The en-suite shower room in the master bedroom East Byre, within the peaceful sanctuary of Salutation Yard, in unspoilt Skelton, Lakeland, Cumbria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Master bedroom with en-suite shower room and king size bed
The en-suite shower room in the master bedroom
East Byre, within the peaceful sanctuary of Salutation Yard, in unspoilt Skelton, Lakeland, Cumbria
Dining area in open plan kitchen/dining/sitting room.
Sitting area with TV/DVD and CD/radio/I pod dock. Patio doors open on to enclosed patio area
Kitchen with integrated oven/hob, fridge freezer, dishwasher. Microwave, washer, mixer, bread maker
Dinner with friends or family in East Byre?
Enclosed patio area. Also secure indoor store for outdoor equipment, dryer and 2-3 parking spaces.
Twin bedroom on the first floor
Main bathroom with w/c, basin, shower enclosure and contemporary free standing bath
Main bathroom view 2, showing deep, freestanding bath for relaxing soaks
Ground floor bedroom with zip and link bed, can be arranged as twins or a super king
Ground floor: shower room. Accessible self-contained accommodation for 2 plus cot on this level.
Study area on landing. Free Wi Fi throughout cottage and courtyard
Welcome to East Byre, Salutation Yard. Explore the nearby Lake District from here!
The stunning scenery surrounding Skelton. Many walks and bike rides can be started from the Yard
Friendly village pub serving good food and take-aways, a 3 minute stroll from East Byre
Unspoilt Skelton, traditional Cumbrian village in the Eden Valley, handy for the Lake District
Skelton Village Hall
Skelton Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulineba...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely 60th birthday weekend celebration”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We booked all three cottages for a family weekend to celebrate my 60th birthday. On arrival, we were very impressed with the accommodation as a whole. We stayed in the East Byre which was fantastic; very clean and done to a very high standard. Each bedroom had access to a bathroom. We had the en-suite which was very spacious. There is plenty of storage in the bedrooms. Everything you could think of was provided so no need to take anything with regards to condiments/kitchen items. The only thing we needed which we didn't think of was cooking oil. The owner greeted us on the day of arrival and was available if needed, but we didn't need anything - except a fan for one of the rooms, which was provided. All the family congregated in our cottage which had the largest seating area. We went to Penrith on Saturday which was 15 minute drive - a lovely little town. We booked a meal at the Dog and Gun Inn in Skelton for the Saturday evening meal, which was really nice. Everybody, even the fussy teenagers, enjoyed their meal. My son and his partner said the Chateaubriand was the best they have ever had - and they eat it a lot. On Sunday, we went to Pooley Bridge and got the boat to Glenridding which was lovely. The only REAL problem with the accommodation, which is totally out of the owner's control, is the number of flies. We could not have the doors open as we were plagued by flies, so we were very warm as it was nice weather. I would suggest some sort of mesh or fly net on the patio doors as this did spoil it as we were constantly swatting flies. Overall, we had a wonderful weekend and I would highly recommend this accommodation. We will definitely book again for any future weekends away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you all for such a special celebration and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much. Also that you had such an excellent meal at our wonderful village pub-I passed your complimentary comments on to them when we were eating there last night!
I’m sorry to hear flies were a nuisance in East Byre. We are researching new ways to deal with them. We fitted the electric fly destroyers soon after we opened and realised what a menace flies can be here in the countryside., in past years this was pretty successful. The heatwave this year has led to flies becoming a problem again and we hope to reduce this in future by fitting some nets this autumn.
Many thanks again for your great comments and we look forward to your return.
All good wishes,
Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa O
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn conversion ”
Reviewed 10 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Just returned from East Byre after a thoroughly relaxing break. The cottage is so well designed, the 6 of us had plenty of room and felt right at home. If you're looking for a retreat that is in a quiet location, yet only a short drive from lots of attractions and towns like Keswick - look no further. Tip: the cottage even comes with its own bike and wetsuit store - we will be taking our bikes next time.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for this positive review, so kind of you to write it and it is great to hear that you had such a relaxing time and plan to stay with us again in future.
We really enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
With warmest wishes, Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here as it was reasonably close to Penrith. It's a lovely building. Every thing you could possibly need. Owners left a great welcome with chocolate, biscuits, juice and wine. A little gem of a place and very reasonably priced

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Dear Jamie,
Thank you so much for reviewing East Byre.
It is really good to hear you loved the cottage and had all you needed for your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebelmena...
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning, homely, warm, cosy and perfect for exploring the Lakes, x”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

East Byre is beautiful. It is perfectly located near the North Lakes, just off the M6 and minutes from Penrith.

We stayed with four children and we had masses of space the house. The kitchen is equipped with everything we could think of and then some. The washing machine made the week manageable with wet welly walks, the breadmaker and the baking equipment gave me soothing sanctuary in cooking and the tea and coffee making crockery delightful for lovely evenings with the firelight (electric but beautiful) and for afternoon tea.

The level of luxury the house affords far outweighs the price, which is incredible (but don't raise it because I said that :-)

Parking is perfect. Food shops nearby include Tesco, Morrisons, Sainsbury and Aldi and I did one big shop to cover the week and then some. Book, enjoy and you'll be rebooking, I guarantee it!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Olwen...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

One of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The cottage was in a courtyard with private outside seating area. There were three bedrooms with three bathrooms, hard to find in most properties. The courtyard was accessed via an electronic gate system. The welcome gift on arrival was much appreciated. Would love to stay again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we would love to welcome you back soon.
With all good wishes Jane and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing