We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen L
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at The Coach House in the pretty village of Skelton 7 - 9 June.

Nicky, the owner was very helpful and eager to ensure we enjoyed our holiday asking us what we like to do and what kind of food we might like etc. guiding us in the right direction.

The cottage itself is spotless and beautiful and has been lovingly renovated to a very high standard.
As we were only there for a couple of days we didn't cook preferring to eat out but if we had been there for longer everything was there that you would ever need to cook and enjoy the facilities to the full.

We had beautiful weather which is always a bonus.

We went into Pulley Bridge which is a lovely little town on Ullswater enjoying a visit to the waterfall nearby. Penrith itself is also worth a visit with its quirky Squares shopping centre.

We enjoyed a meal in the local pub in Skelton which is a little dated and only open certain hours, but the owners are very friendly and we enjoyed what we chose to eat. I have learnt not to judge a book by its cover!

The Boot and Shoe in a nearby village was also very good and definitely worth the short drive.

This little gem of a cottage is a short drive to the beautiful lake district and is an excellent base to explore. You will definitely need a car to enjoy the area.

It was our wedding anniversary during our stay and that morning a bottle of Prosecco and a lovely card were left on the doorstep. Much appreciated by us. A lovely gesture by Nicky and Anthony (the owners)

As I explained to Nicky - I only had one complaint..... our stay wasn't long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself was amazing and Nicky was so helpful
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Happy days..... Many thanks and bestest wishes, Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for 2”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were made very welcome by the owner, Nicky. The cottage is absolutely immaculate and very comfortable. We only stayed for 2 nights but wish it could have been longer. We had beautiful sunshine and did a lovely Windermere cruise. Can recommend the Dog & Gun - good food and friendly locals. Definitely worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: economy lighting - very dark on the stairs to start with
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Great, many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coach House Cottage. Best Wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha1...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations - romantic location ”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nicky was a very welcoming on arrival and made us feel at home.

We booked the cottage after reading many great reviews but yet the cottage still managed to exceed our expectations!

It was immaculate with great facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and powerful. Having Netflix on the TV was a nice touch. Whilst we only used the kitchen facilities for breakfast, it is fully equipped to cook a main meal.

Wilf, the owner of the Dog & Gun pub was very friendly, as were the locals. They were happy to offer advice on where to go/ best places to visit.

We would highly recommend a trip to Ullswater followed by Aira Force - absolutely breathtaking! We were fortunate with the weather which made it all the more enjoyable.

I would highly recommend the Coach House Cottage for couples looking for a romantic weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Hello Both,
Many thanks for your comprehensive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality at the Dog and Gun, I shall pass your thanks on to Wilf when I am next in.
Also good to hear that you enjoyed Ullswater, rather less commercial than some of the Southern Lakes, an absolute joy for walking.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous cottage would highly recommend”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this beautiful first class cottage, Absolutely spotlessly clean and modern, the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need and more. We have stayed in lots of really nice self catering accommodation but this has to be the best & we are already planning our next visit. Thank you Nicky, your attention to detail and warm welcome was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for your review, reviews such as yours make all the cleaning much worthwhile. It is lovely to think that guests enjoy their stay.
Best wishes
Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecro...
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* Cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We've just come back from a week at Coach House Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was so clean & well equipped it was a pleasure to return to it each day - a 'home from home'. Nicky has done a great job providing such a comfortable place & goes that 'extra mile' - THANK YOU.

We intend to return to it some time as its certainly one of the best cottages we've stayed in & we've stayed in a few!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how clean it was
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Great to read your review, much appreciated.Would be lovely to meet you again. Perhaps we will meet you again in your neck of the woods.
BW
Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing