We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage for a weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natashaan...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely few days away in the lakes. Nicky was super and accommodated us for our extremely late arrival after finishing late at work. Coming from Newcastle, and Penrith being situated on the edge of the lakes, it was a good for us to drive to and from. We found therefore we had to do a bit of driving to get into the lakes - but this was all worth it when we got to where were going. At the end of September we had beautiful weather.

The cottage itself is immaculate and had everything we needed. We also met Nicky in person who suggested things to do.

Lovely getaway. Thanks Nicky

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Great, many thanks for your review. We do find that a lot of our guests enjoy the easy access to the M6/A66/A69 whilst being close to the Lake District National Park.
best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review, much appreciated. kind regards Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emmaw0107
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cosy place to stay to see the Lakes”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at the Coach House Cottage was lovely, could not have asked or expected more. The cottage was spotless that stood out and it felt as if Nicky had put a lot of thought into what guests might like, there were little things that were appreciated such as the flowers, masses of leaflets and tea and coffee on our arrival. Would definitely consider booking again, the area is lovely and easy to get to the lakes from here (need a car).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely decoration and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing. Possibly could have done with a lamp in the living room, lots of light switches!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the extra trouble to review on Trip Advisor as well! Your efforts are much appreciated.
best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very relaxing ”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a great place to stay. You can reach Penrith, Keswick and Ullswater very easily. We found this cottage as a great base to see the Lake District.

Whether you want want to be out and about or stay in and relax this is a good choice.

The inside in very nice and very clean the shower is lovely and is as hot as you like also has a good size bath.

We stayed here as part of our 10th anniversary. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Lovely to hear that you chose to spend your 10th wedding anniversary at Coach house Cottage, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful - a great base in the lakes”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked this cottage as a surprise birthday trip for my boyfriend and it fit the bill perfectly. The interior is immaculate, and well kitted out for self-catering. The open plan living area is gorgeous with exposed brickwork and wooden beams - the perfect place to retreat to after a long walk in the lakes! The bathroom is lovely too, and the shower is a great size, piping hot and powerful. It's about 20 minutes away from Penrith and half an hour away from Lake Ullswater so a great base for exploring the area.

Nicky came out of her way to greet us, finding us outside the local pub which is literally around the corner from the property (perk!). She was very friendly, offering advice for our trip and even offering to drop us off at our car on the Sunday morning if we decided to get a taxi back to the cottage - she really went above and beyond! I'd definitely recommend a stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Hello, many thanks for taking time to post a review. Your comments are much appreciated. Best wishes Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing