We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Over priced for area in the middle of no where no...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthonybe...
1 review
“Over priced for area in the middle of no where no nice walks to go on into the mountains.”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

All in all the cottage was lovely but location and price was wrong for me if you want to go somewhere without any shops near by or no mountains or river to walk by its the place to go but very pricey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with the cottage. It seems the rural village location was not as you expected, which is a shame. Many people enjoy the local countryside walks, whilst having the busy Lake District attractions within easy access.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGF263
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful few days staying in this superb cottage. The property was immaculate, clean, superbly fitted out and just the place for a relaxing break in the countryside.
Nicky the owner, was most helpful when we checked in, and gave us good advice on where to visit and eat out.The local area is very picturesque and there are numerous walks and visitor attractions within easy distance.
We had a fantastic time and are so pleased to have discovered such a cosy, welcoming place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accomodation and quiet location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a lovely review, very much appreciated. Best wishes Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage close to everything!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are a couple that spent 3 nights on Coach House Cottage. What a break! The cottage is amazing, very clean and cozy. It's a lovely place, close to wonderful places such as Keswick or Ullswater. When we arrived, Nikki was there willing to give us all the information we needed about what to visit around the area.

It has been an amazing experience, we highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore the lovely North Lakes area.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeathBySt...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Escapism at its best ”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a wonderful stay!

Host - Firstly, our host Nicky provided a friendly and informative welcome on our arrival. The best we've had when staying at a cottage. We particularly appreciated the biscuits and fresh daffodils.

The cottage - Things we loved the most were the extremely comfy bed, the powerful hot shower, private parking for your car by the front door, warm rooms throughout, the teeny cute dishwasher and cosy blankets to snuggle up with whilst watching TV.

Location - Great base to explore the Lakes from and close to the M6. We went to Keswick and Penrith. Although the weather wasn't great during our stay, the cosy cottage was a delight to be in during the rain.

We'd like to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Many thanks for posting a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the little things we do which hopefully help guests who visit our cottages feel welcome comfortable and ready to enjoy their holiday.
Cheers
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco H
2 reviews
“Perfect Weekend Break”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights - but wish it could have been longer!

Our host Nicky greeted us with a warm welcome at the cottage on the Friday evening to show us around and advise on local attractions.

The cottage was absolutely spotless, a perefect balance of modern furnishings with a cosy country cottage feel and exceeded our expectations.

I found the location to be just what we were looking for. Quiet enough to have a real country experience but not too far from the motorway for travelling.

We visited the area of Ullswater for the day which was a beautiful place and a highly recommended visit.

All in all was a perfect weekend away and will be looking to book again in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a review. I think you are quite right when you comment that Skelton is in the countryside but also readily accessible to good transport links.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing