We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage, very homely and in perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area Modern well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Front view of Coach House Cottage
Spacious Living/ Dining area
Modern well equipped kitchen
Exposed fabulous original beams
Original exposed stone wall.
Comfortable seating area.
Dining area looking out on to courtyard and farm buildings beyond.
Ground floor bedroom leading to ensuite bathroom and separate shower
Looking out of bedroom window on to courtyard.
Spacious modern bathroom
Courtyard seating area outside Coach House Cottage.
Looking into hall from courtyard.
Looking at bedroom and living room windows with cycle shed to left of photograph
View from roadside of Coach House Cottage and courtyard.
Forrest walks within local area.
Winter view across fells from local forrest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KTeasdale
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, very homely and in perfect condition.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights for our 1st wedding anniversary and it was a fantastic place to stay. It was immaculately clean and well equipped. Good wifi too!

Penrith is only a short drive away which is a nice town to have a walk around and Skelton itself is lovely if you would rather have a more rural meander.

The owners of the property were great too, giving us recommendations for food as we were arriving quite late on the first night after a long drive and chatting to us in the local pub too.

Speaking of the pub, it's very cosy and just next door, we ate there on the second night and the food was fantastic. Even though the pub is literally next door we couldn't hear a peep when we were back in the cottage too. Would love to go back again for a longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Original features with modern fittings.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2014
Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to review my cottage. I think future guests would find your comments helpful. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and would be pleased to meet you again.
Best Wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjhall
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage... cannot fault!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our experience at the cottage was better than we could have imagined. Nicky was so friendly and really made us feel welcome with the little touches such as fresh daffodils, books, dvds, tea and coffee. The cottage itself was immaculate, with the most luxurious feel to it. The bed was so comfy, and the whole cottage felt like a home from home. The location is remote, which we liked, and we visited the pub which is literally next door and got some tasty food for very affordable prices. We climbed Scarfell Pike (1 hr 30 min drive away), visited Long Meg and did the circular walk of 4.5 miles (20 mins away), visited Penrith (10 mins away) and went to Ullswater (20 mins away) where we found a lovely tearoom on Pooley Bridge. Everything was perfect and we cannot wait to return. Thank you Nicky and Anthony :).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to small details
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Many thanks for posting a very considered review of Coach House Cottage and your holiday activities. We would be pleased to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect escape to the country”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We're a young (25/26 yrs) couple, stayed for 5 days and had a brilliant time. The owner was very welcoming and answered all of our questions whether it be about things to do in the local area to where is best to go food shopping. Complimentary tea and biscuits also went down well! The cottage itself is lovely with lots of character combined with modern, functional decor. The location is in a quiet area but close enough to Penrith to cycle. Carlisle is not far away for visiting among other attractions in the local area. The weather was awful but the lakes are definitely worth driving to see. To our surprise we also had a lot of fun playing a couple of board games and watching DVDs also provided with the cottage on the rainy days! We were sad to leave and would most definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your review is lovely and gives a comprehensive summary of your stay which I hope will be helpful to future guests. Thanks and it will be a pleasure to see you both back in Skelton.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage. We will look forward to meeting you again. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WILLYENOC...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful,immaculate with lovely owner”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Beautiful cottage. Weather awful!!!!!! Stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely,relaxing break.we didn't have to travel very far to be at the lakes and nearby towns. Nicky is lovely. Friendly and helpful. Tea,coffee,milk sugar all provided.absolutely gleaming it's so clean and fresh. Very very cosy too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: area and everything we wanted close by
Liked least: weather and coming home on the only sunny day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
Many thanks for taking time to review our cottage, I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday despite the weather!
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing