We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
476
380
115
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
476
380
115
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomdappers barsconesno liftfeature roomone way systemcar parkthird floortravelzoo dealtraditional hotelcream tealovely hotelon arrivaltop floorevening mealsecret escapeslounge area
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful 2 nights on our way to Glasgow. Rooms were lovely and the service was 2nd to none. Manager- Dave even sourced me my favourite tonic to go with the local gin. Food was great and the location is very central. Definitely a place to stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HTPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

It was nice to meet you,

You'll be pleased to know that we now stock Fever Tree tonic permanently.

Until next time safe travels

Dave and team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Hotel is old fashioned- but very comfortable. We had no complaints about the bedrooms or the facilities.Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
However, the food was poor. We had a stale scone on arrival- that made the decision not to have dinner in the evening.
Breakfast was badly cooked and very basic. Virtually no fresh fruit on offer.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scottishladies660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi Scottish Ladies 660,

Shame about your scone, I can assure you they are freshly made every morning.

Not sure what is basic about our breakfasts. A few of the options include a 9 piece full monty style grill, 6 different cereals, fruit platter, charcuterie, granola and yoghurt pots, smoked haddock, smoked salmon, eggs benedict, 5 different fruit juices. Theres lots of other bits too!

I hope you can return so please do contact me directly at the hotel 01768 862696 should you wish to stay again.

sincerely Dave and team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The room was clean, well decorated. The bed was comfortable.tv and tea/ coffee . Also bottled water. The bathroom was clean with modern fittings and a brilliant shower. The staff were excellent and and the food first class.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank billy50wg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks for the great review and for taking the time.

Dave and team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Only spent one night but wouldn't hesitate to return, the room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The restaurant was excellent, dinner was superb and breakfast the following morning catered for any taste . Hotel staff were all very helpful, it was a delight to stay there.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank carolelloyd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks for those great words of praise carolelloyd.

I hope you can return for another round!!

Dave and team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed one night but enjoyed a Devonshire tea, a three course dinner and breakfast. We both thought that the food was exceptional, for pub food it was very very good. The bedroom was a delight with its sloping floor. The bathroom and bed were fine. Staff, particularly the receptionist were great.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a bit of a hike and a slopey floor but the food makes it all worthwhile.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jhusselbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews