We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
502
406
120
64
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
502
406
120
64
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dappers bar scones no lift feature room traditional hotel one way system third floor travelzoo deal free car park lovely hotel cream tea top floor on arrival course evening meal secret escapes packed lunch
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Well we arrived today (eAster Sunday) at this loverly town centre hotel, and from
Start to finish already fantastic
Johnny Vegas stood back as we came in and waited for me to come in ! What a gent he is!
I went and said hello to them st there family table and as I had met his mum yes ago she remembered me ....
Loverly surprise hahaha
Anyway the hotel room is fantastic a beautiful first floor suite....
Super large bed and nice lounge....both with tv”s very nicely furnished and feature room overlooking the square, beautiful
So we went t look around found a little pub at back
Of the hotel full
If locals not very nice tho the blonde barmaid was very rude and basically miffed that we asked for a drink! Ha
Anyway we went back to the hotel as it started to snow and relaxed with a few Bacardi and come and beer for the hubby!we’re booking in for dinner later, a roast and if the chips we had before are anything to go by it will be nice..... I’ll add to this review later and let you know what it’s like
We have 2 days here so the more receives to come
It cost £288 for b&b for 2 of us for 2 days and that’s eAster,and dinner is £25 per person for a large 3 course...... so let’s see what it’s like later, but the hotel is beautiful
Has its own car park and 2 bars and people food drinks all fab

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kaiyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Only stayed for one night after booking up the day before!
Spring Break Offer, DBB and tea and scones on arrival.
Cut across country in the aftermath of the snow. Beautiful scenery enroute.
Arrived around 4/5pm booked in and had a well awaited cuppa and cream scone... nice touch☕️
The George Hotel obviously a grand building has tastefully been maintained
We had a lovely room.
Booked in for evening meal and it was delicious
The staff throughout our visit were so attentive friendly and courteous
We visited the in house bar and ventured out to the local
And so to bed with the “bested” Cumfy bed and a lovely nights rest.
A brilliant R and R
Would definitely go back
Just lovely

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Roynaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Roynaa

The great review is much appreciated.
I have passed on your comments to them.

Dave and Team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I was stranded in Carlisle with the bad weather.
After a mix-up (polite term!), Virgin Trains had to relocate my friend and I to Penrith, because all the hotel rooms in Carlisle had been snapped up!
This hotel is stunning.
Rooms magnificent, facilities fantastic, and staff simply wonderful.
I don't think that I could have afforded this hotel if Virgin Trains had not paid!!
But, if you want to treat yourself or a loved one, then if you choose this hotel you will be completely pampered from start to finish.
Well done every member of staff.
Everyone from the room cleaners to the chef's were extremely professional and a credit to the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank DonaldM739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thanks for that great review Donald M.

I think you would be very surprised at our prices. A double room is available including breakfast from £90 sometimes!

I hope your trip didn't cause too much disruption and we look forward to seeing you again.

Dave and team George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Called in for a light lunch of soup and sandwiches. Excellent food as always, served by efficient and friendly staff in front of a lovely fire.
Dog friendly and a lovely warm atmosphere. Well worth a visit for lunch.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank sevgililerevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

thanks for the lovely comments sevgililerevi,

All our team are big dog fans.

We shall see you again soon I hope.

Dave and team George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business on a £64.50 B&B deal and ate like a king! The 2 AA rosettes are richly deserved as evidenced by the hake with cockles and mussels dish which was particularly excellent. My only gripe with the food was the Monday morning breakfast "fail" request for "sloppy" lightly-cooked scrambled egg which turned out to as over-cooked as everyone else's. I had a good 3 star standard double room for which my only suggestion to management would be to find a way to wedge the bathroom door open to let it de-humidify quicker. The door shuts itself very quickly after release. All in all though, for under £65 DB&B this was by far the best hotel deal I have found in years.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alastair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for a great review Alastair 2013.

I hope you can return for our spring menu starting early March.

Dave and team George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews