We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
30
5
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
5
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each pod apple trees loved to stay longer couple of nights local attractions bbq area road noise pooley bridge great facilities great place to stay tea and coffee pods kettle decking ventilation ullswater site
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I stayed with a friend for two nights over the weekend as took part at Pooley Bridge. Was absolutely idyllic. The pod was spotlessly clean with a kettle, cutlery and microwave. It was only a short walk into Penrith if you fancied exploring and within easy access of the main roads into Ullswater and the surrounding areas. The shower block and toilets were spotlessly clean and although it was close to the road and the train line it did not disturb me enough for it to be a problem. The only downside was the lack of wi-fi - having read other reviews I am confused as to whether this was free or not as nothing was mentioned on any documentation received and it does not mention it on the booking.com website. Only a minor complaint though as it did not detract from the enjoyment of the stay. Would definitely recommend Orchard Hideaways and would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Keeley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Stay here in January and loved every minute.
Whole Place and camping pods were spotlessly clean and well looked after.
We stayed in the family pod which was great and too warm with the heater on ( in January lol)
Nice location just off main road but not too noise .
Shower and toilet were cleaned daily and spotless .
Owner was so helpful
Dogs are welcome
We are planning to stay here again later in the year and have told all friends and family about this place .

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank chriskordes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed for 1 night last weekend and had a lovely time. The pod was very clean however it did smell a little of wet dog which set my allergies off.
We were in pod 7 which had its own microwave, plates etc. Each pod has its own picnic bench and BBQ area.
It was a bit of a shame the weather wasnt to good when we went but we didnt let that get to us.
Its around 20-25 minutes into Penrith with some lovely little local bars and restaurants.
I made the booking through booking.com and a week before arrival I got a text message with the codes etc for the pod and showers which I found was a nice little touch.
Will deffinetly be returning in the summer with friends as it is a lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TAHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Pod was very clean , warm , and loved it being in amongst the Apple trees of the orchard , great that it had its own seating and barbeque area , toilets and shower block also very clean , owners were very friendly , and welcoming , great base for touring the lakes , 4 miles from Ullswater , 20 from Bowness , great trip over Winnats pass .would definitely visit again .

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmc877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed there for a couple of nights just glad it wasn't any longer. On arrival we were told there was maintenance being done and had to sit listening to hammering and sawing for the first hour of the stay which wasn't a great start.

Soon became apparent the maintenance was only the start of the noise problem, the site despite looking very picturesque is stuck right between a busy rail-track, a busy dual carriageway and to top it all off has a road running through the middle connecting it to a business park so you get constant noise throughout the day and into the night from at least one of these transport routes.

The accommodation was small, we needed 3 beds, 2 single beds and a mattress on the floor left little room for anything else in the pod.

Free WiFi is advertised on here, there wasn't any unless its hidden or only available to the pods nearest the office.

The campsite advertises that it is only a mile and a half walk from Penrith, it is if you fancy risking your life walking down the side of the busy dual carriageway and then negotiating crossing 5 junctions of an even busier roundabout, wouldn't recommend doing it with young children.

Finally, I was going to give the place 2 stars but after the owners dog crapped next to our picnic table and nobody bothered to pick it up I decided to knock it down to one and after reading reviews on their Facebook page this isn't the first time it's happened.

Definitely wouldn't recommend and definitely won't be going back.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2017

Hi Mick, thanks for your review and i hope i can address some of the issues with your stay.

Regarding the maintenance work being done on the site, check-in time for our guests is 2pm and no maintenance work was done after 2pm. We kindly allowed you to check-in an hour early free of charge (as you arrived early) and explained there would be some maintenance work going on until our actual check-in time of 2pm- maintenance work was then stopped at 2pm as we informed you and you agreed was ok.

Regarding the noise coming from the "busy rail-track", "busy dual carriageway" and the "road running through the middle connecting it to a business park"; 99% of our guests say although it's so close to the transportation routes the noise wasn't a problem at all but is located very well being surrounded by all the nature and birds in an ancient apple orchard but still incredibly easy to get to. The very small road runs in between the reception/ car park area and the pod camping area so no cars run through the camping area which is surrounded by either fencing or walls and a gate. The small road running through is also limited to 5mph with "pedestrians crossing" and "please drive slowly" signs and also with large speed bumps.

Regarding the wi-fi, there is a sign on the reception door with the W-fi network and password on it.

Regarding the mile and a half walk to Penrith centre, there is pavement and a footpath all the way along the dual carriageway and all the way around the roundabout with multiple traffic lights for pedestrian crossing at every point needed to cross a road- just as safe as any other road.

Finally, regarding the dog waste on the site, the owners were away during your stay with their dog so this would have been impossible for it to have been the owners dog. We regularly litter pick the site and pick up any dog waste but with it being a dog friendly site it is also the other guests responsibility bringing their dogs to clean up after theirs. Unfortunately we cannot hire anybody to search the perimeters of our site 24/7 for any dog waste but we do regular litter picks and can only apologise on other guests behalf for any dog waste that was made out of staff hours. If any staff was informed we would have been more than happy to clean it up for you.

All i can do is apologise for the stay you had with us and urge anybody else reading this review to also look at the other reviews and make your own judgement- after all it can be impossible to satisfy that 1%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews