We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTERPARCS WINFELL FOREST”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“CENTERPARCS WINFELL FOREST”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

overall very satisfactory.
good accomodation.
good beds.
very neat.
good child care facilities.
good restaurants.
good staff.
good sports plaza and village centre.
good out door activity centre.
very secure suuroundinds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,151
    2,357
    922
    365
    197
See reviews for
5,925
659
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Whinfell, got offered a free upgrade the Wednesday before we went, from a 3 bed comfort plus to a 4 bed exclusive villa with hot tub, sauna and steam room! As you can imagine this made our weekend. Visited spa for first time, had a luxury manicure and friend had head massage, husbands did twilight spa, which we all loved. Pool in center felt cooler than usual and was very busy. The lodge we were in, 15 Three Oaks, was a long walk for the children especially in the rain, probably pay extra to stay closer next time. Cycle paths aren't lit very well at night which caused a few tumbles. But overall we had a great weekend. Not sure exclusive lodges are worth the extra cost, but as we got it for price of comfort plus we didn't complain! Didn't eat out in evening as too expensive, but a good tip is to visit Parc Marc bakery for some pies etc for lunch, they are lovely and there are tables right outside where you can sit and eat lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have been going to centre parks for the last 8 years and we love it!! but we have noticed this year it was very expensive, all the activities are, and going out to dine with drinks is very pricey!! so take plenty of money with you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linzi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have been coming to Centre Parcs for the last 13 years, although I am not sure how many more years we will be able to come for as the prices here have become absolutely extortionate!!! For example, sweet and sour chicken is £9 for take out without rice, this is ridiculous! It's such a shame because the place is really lovely and our family enjoys coming every year before Christmas.
There are a range of activities but because of the prices we found ourselves with nothing to do a lot of the time. We played bowling on Monday night, which cost £18, and then decided to play again on Tuesday. However, we were this time charged £25 despite it being the same time and the same amount of people. The woman told us the price increase was because 'Monday is a quieter night so it's cheaper'. What? It wasn't stated anywhere that the prices changed depending on the evening - pathetic! £25 for 45 minutes of bowling meant that we were definitely not going to be doing that again during our stay. We almost had a heart attack when we read the menu for Dexter's restaurant where we used to go for lunch. There was nothing on the menu for less than £10, and it's just a simple place to nip for a bit of lunch!
As I have said, we have been coming to Centre Parcs for the past 13 years and the cabins haven't changed at all - same chairs, tables and out-dated large-backed televisions. The showers are horrendous - freezing cold every few minutes. It would be nice to see the cabins updated and modernised a bit considering the ridiculous prices you are charged to stay in them for 4 nights. For the price you would also expect a bit more provided inside the cabin, such as soap and extra toilet rolls, a hairdryer in every bedroom rather than just one to fight over.
Overall I really like Centre Parcs, but I just feel that for the prices you pay you really don't get much for your money. I don't think we will be returning next year due to the prices, which is a real shame. We have been coming for so many years yet we aren't rewarded in any way.
On the up side, we met some really nice and helpful members of staff, such as the young lady who had cleaned our cabin and the man on the desk in the sports plaza. Such a shame about the prices.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We are regular visitors of Center Parcs and have always enjoyed our holidays here with the children and family.
Most holiday companies nowadays offer a small fee to be able to cancel if the need may arise and make the process relatively easy, not Center Parcs, on the booking process they make it so you have to untick the box if you don't require it so beware if booking in a hurry, the worst part is you are only insured if your made redundant, close family member dies or serious damage to your home before you go, The process you have to follow if you have to make a claim is a long lengthy process that Center Parcs just pass on to another insurance company, It is rather sad really when the holidays that have had to have been cancelled would have been snapped up again and Center Parcs not losing out on anything.
Please bear this in mind when booking and only take out any of the Insurances if you absolutely need to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns.

Many of our guests appreciate the importance of protecting against the need to cancel their holiday and the policy we offer is in line with that provided by many other holiday companies. As with all insurance policies, guest do have the right to cancel within 14 days, and obtain a full refund of the premium, from the date they receive the policy wording and confirmation, this gives you the opportunity to ensure that the policy meets with your own personal needs.

I am sorry that you found the claim process to be lengthy, but I am sure you will appreciate the policy provided is from a creditable insurance company and not by Center Parcs.

I do hope your disappointment with this process will not deter you from visit Center Parcs again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
10.0 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
37.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
11.7 km away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
38.4 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
36.7 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing