We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Met our requirements perfectly”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 9 The Townhouses

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HAPPYCOUP...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Met our requirements perfectly”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is our first booking via Keswick Cottages and hopefully won't be our last .we were a party of 6 adults one little 4 year old and two infants . We found that the accommodation met our needs perfectly.The two ensuites and family bathroom meant no queuing and waiting for each other to get ready. We were extremely lucky with the weather having 5 glorious days out of the seven so not inside very much at all. Having said that the nice large dining room enabled us to have family meals together and the lounge provided enough seating for all of us.The kitchen has more then enough supplies of plates, glasses cups to allow a full load in the dishwasher and still have plenty to use.The location is ideal a short walk to town and on the door step of Fitz park and the leisure centre. We received a quick and curteous response from the agent over a minor query regarding the infant cot we hired .Had no problems at all , we all enjoyed our family time together and our stay at 9 The Townhouses and hope to book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elawton1
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Not as described ”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Booked the property through Keswick luxury cottages.
Very comfortable not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination,oven and grill wouldn't work,wood burner just fills house with smoke,10 guests no glasses in the property even though explained was for birthday party weekend,furniture tired and dated,sofa all ripped around the bottoms.
Pillows in bedrooms all flat and worn and on further inspection not clean !!! Could I recommend pillow protectors? If you are going to charge the money you charge you should re invest in the property,just a thought.
They ask in the brochure for you to leave the property in the same condition as when you arrive,I am so sorry I couldn't do that !!!! So we have cleaned it to the best standard we could with the very little resources you provided,one dish cloth,one tea towel,no toilet cleaner,no bleach,sorry if I offend you with my review but to be honest very dissatisfied with 9 the town houses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2017
Mr Lawton, I can only apologise that you feel that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us. It seems to come across that you were expecting 5 star luxury accommodations and of course 9 The Town house does not fit into that bracket it is a 4 star Visit Britain property. The rate you paid of £25 per person per night is reflective of this and I believe a fantastic rate for the level of accommodation booked. We do have many 5 Star and Gold awarded properties that I feel would satisfy your requirements but of course would be more expensive.
The property was very recently fully refurbished to a high standard, and as you can see from previous comments people have been very impressed with the house.
As you became aware our customer service is second to none. After reporting that you did not have enough glasses in the property for all 8 guests you were visited by a member of our team within half an hour who brought you the additional glasses as requested. We do have large parties who book more than one of the Townhouses at a time so often the glasses, kitchen ware etc. do get moved from house to house and while we do try to keep an eye on this and check the inventory in between guests during the busier changeover days it is not always possible but as you know we are on hand within minutes if anything is not perfect.
While there we also asked if there was anything else that you needed and were told that everything else in the property was great. So to complain on TripAdvisor that you did not know how to use the oven, grill and fire when you were very aware how quickly problems are dealt with I find bizarre! A simple phone call and we would have come to show you how to use these (the instructions are in the property). The pillows could have also been replaced for you and of course have now been.
Thank you for taking the time to clean the property on departure, however, in the brochure we just ask that you leave the property in the same state of general order as you found it to allow us to fully prepare the house for the next guests. At no point are you asked to clean the property, we don’t leave bleach or toilet cleaner for health and safety reasons.
We are a small local agency and our customers are always of upmost priority in everything that we do, we always try to ensure a positive experience from booking to departure. Indeed we have close to 100 reviews and only 2 (including yours) have fewer than 4 circles! So yes it is upsetting and damaging to brashly slate a property without good reason or thought. I hope this will change your thinking towards us and the Townhouses and we hope we can welcome you back for another stay in Keswick safe in the knowledge that if you have any difficulties, questions or requests that we are always on hand to offer assistance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeymoon...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Spacious and great location!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely stay in the townhouse. It was very clean and really spacious. We were able to enjoy a couple of dinner parties in the dining room! It's a great central location to explore Kewsick and the Lakes. The views from some of the bedrooms on the upper floors are impressive. We would love to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and comments about 9 The Townhouse! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you again soon. Keswick Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long weekend away”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can I just say we had an amazing time away and the accommodation was fantastic. Very clean and well presented and very well equipped for the amount of people we had staying.plenty of room as well. Definitely use again. It was also really close to town which was great for going out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a great property all round
Liked least: Nothing everything was great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind comments following your stay, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend in 9 The Townhouse! We look forward to having you and your family stay again soon, if you would like any help or advice when planning your next visit to Keswick please do not hesitate to get in touch. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing