We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great house would defiantly stay again”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris1988...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great house would defiantly stay again”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this at quite short notice and i'm really glad we stumbled upon this little hidden gem. The living room is big and the kitchen is modern and the downstairs bathroom is really nice. Everything is modern and very clean and it really made out trip away go brilliantly. Would thoroughly recommend this property as it is great value for money and lorraine is very easy going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent house in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in Keswick staying at Whitbeck House. The house is lovely and finished to a very high standard. We found it very comfortable. It had everything we needed for a very pleasant stay. We were blessed with great weather, and so were able to make full use of the garden at the back of the house. The views (particularly from the back of the house) are stunning. There is plenty of off road parking in the drive way at the front of the house. We were very pleased with the location - easy to get to, and only a short walk to the centre of Keswick. John and Lorraine Trafford, the owners, are lovely and very helpful. We are already planning our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boomerEng...
england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great house for exploring Keswick and area”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay at Whitbeck House, everything we needed and more. Spacious holiday house and fab views especially from the back of the house. We had four young children with us and they loved playing in the safe garden, plenty of parking. Ten minutes walk into Keswick centre and the great play area in Fitz park. This house would suit couples and families alike. Would highly recommend and would certainly return. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Immaculate family house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have never stayed in Keswick in high season (school holidays) before and so the cost of this house was more than we'd paid before. However I am happy to say that it was worth every penny. It was actually no more expensive than the going rate for other accommodation but the standard was way above and beyond what we have experienced before.

All the furnishings and fittings were of the highest quality with the kitchen and living areas having everything you could possibly want, including a double oven, coffee pod machine and smart TV with the all-important wifi for the teenagers.

The back garden was big and fenced securely allowing dogs and small children to be safe, and the front garden gates also meant that area was secure. There was a set of garden toys (badminton / volleyball etc) too!

Plenty of hot water and the heating was great. The 2 bathrooms came in handy at times of peak demand too.

Last of all the location was excellent. The walk into the town centre was about 10 minutes, to the foot of Skiddaw / Latrigg about 15 mins. Also, it was easy to get straight onto the A66 to avoid queuing through the town centre traffic lights in the car on the way out for day trips.

The contact and communication with the property owner was quick, easy and friendly.

I really cannot recommend this home highly enough and will be telling my friends and family all about it! Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall high standard of accommodation + location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing