We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners”
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence House
Ranked #17 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I've just stayed here for the first time since the new owners took over a couple of weeks ago. It is still a really nice place to stay and very little has changed, the new owners Jane and Nigel are very nice and you still get a very warm welcome with the same added touches to make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. Jane's collection of her own Lakeland paintings adorning the walls are worth the visit alone and I look forward to staying again in the near future. Thank you to Jane and Nigel for such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room in this B&B but if you are really picky Room 3 is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Richard, Thank you for your very kind comments it was a pleasure meeting you both and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Our 2 nights in Keswick were made all the more memorable having stayed with Karen & Richard at Clarence house. After a warm welcome, Karen was kind enough to lend us some walking maps for the next day, & to suggest some spots for lunch & dinner. We had room 3, which is upstairs one flight, & we were pleased with how much space we had. There is a table & chairs at a bay window, which was nice spot to sit have a cuppa after a busy day out. The en-suite had every thing we needed, & everything worked. The breakfast room is a lovely spot. Room 3 gets the table at the front of the house with a view out. It was handy to see what the weather was doing. The breakfast was excellent. A great variety of continental, & a cooked as well.
( The fresh fruit, & the cooked mushrooms were the best of the whole trip)
The B & B is an easy walk to the centre of the village, & very close to Derwent Water for walking a lap of the lake. Thanks Karen & Richard, we would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1chdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

where do we start what a lovely place.spotlessly clean warm cozy and comfortably inviting.karen was very welcoming when we checked in and gave us plenty of information on where to eat and drink.the bedroom was lovely big really clean comfy bed with good quality bedding and towels.the breakfast was probably the best we have had plenty of choice and was always being refilled.huge bowl of freshly cut fruit and massive cooked full english.richard was very knowledgeable of the local walks.there were plenty of little touches that make this place special.we will definatly be returning.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susan3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Just stayed over the weekend at this B and B. Warm welcome by the owners and immediately felt at home. Bedroom was up several flights of stairs and had a pleasant view to the rear of the property. The room had everything you could need and the bed was comfortable. Only slight issue was the size of the en-suite. Fortunately my wife and I are quite svelte!! The choice for breakfast was very good served between 8-15 and 9am. Fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal then onto a cooked breakfast or porridge along with other choices. Property is well situated near to the town Centre shops/ restaurants etc. The weekend we stayed was Jazz festival weekend and so on street parking was at a premium. Owners were very helpful with suggesting walks to do. Try the 10 mile walk around Derwentwater and enjoy !!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shifty8934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I stayed here recently with my friend for a cylcling weekend and can heartily recommend it.

The location is excellent - in a quiet street with plenty of parking nearby - but less than 10 minutes walk from the town centre.

The property itself is lovely and immaculately kept. Our room was very well appointed and spotless. Good quality beds, great shower and plenty of storage.

The welcome from Richard was fantastic - very friendly and helpful. Karen was lovely too and we met her in the morning at breakfast.

The breakfast is served in a lovely light room and is excellent quality - plenty of fruit, cereals and porridge as well as the delicious cooked breakfast.

We both felt very welcome and at home here and will definitely be back.

Thanks!
Keith

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BaileyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 km away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 189 in Keswick
572 reviews
1.1 km away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
1.2 km away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 189 in Keswick
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 189 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.3 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#19 of 189 in Keswick
336 reviews
0.2 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $144 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Nigel welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attractive dining room, complete with Victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing