We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A picturesque and peaceful holiday location that...”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove
Sitting room
dining area in sitting room
overlooking garden
sitting room comfortable arm chairs
sitting room
downstairs entrance hall
Entrance hall        and front door
Kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom twin beds
bedroom
entrance hall
bathroom
outside in winter
storage biar
sitting area outside
Garden and seating
View from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4x4Hawk
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, rodent ridden, exposed wires, ground in dirt”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival at this 'dog friendly' accommodation we were met by open bowls of mouse/rat poison which were accessible by the dogs, the place looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly for a very long time. I could write a long list of problems but I think it was simply too much for the old lady who owns it to prepare it to an acceptable standard and hope she makes an effort to put things right.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
This guest arrived arrived early before we arrived back and entered the cottage without our permission and before we had chance to clean it after the departure of the previous guest. He arrived with three dogs and a partner. Our understanding was that the dogs would be gaged while in doors but this was clearly not the case.
The present occupants in the week following and all previous guest have been delighted with the cottage.Please see other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINDA W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A picturesque and peaceful holiday location that is easily accessible, well-equipped and very homely.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I've just enjoyed another fantastic stay at Barn Cottage which is a secluded and tranquil holiday cottage that offers everything a visitor needs. The owners are exceptionally accommodating and offer a personal touch with their warm and friendly welcome and delicious custom made cake - mmm! The cottage is a fantastic base from which to venture off into the surrounding area and is very homely to return to at the end of the day. It is not far from nearby towns and restaurants yet it is a delightful, private haven that is nestled amongst the hills. I miss leaving every year and always look forward to my return again the next holiday season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely, cosy feel to the property.
Liked least: Nothing, as I choose to return there every year.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Thank you see you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne K
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base to explore the Lakes from.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Each year I return to this lovely cottage. Joyce and Arthur are always ready with a warm welcome and a delicious cake is always freshly baked for your arrival. The home made chocolate cake can definitely be recommended. The cottage always has towels, bedding and tea towels available, so none of these have to be packed and brought along. Little things like cling film, food bags, kitchen roll, toilet rolls, washing up liquid etc are usually in good supply at the cottage too, which is very helpful. No extra charge is made for heating or hot water and the free wi-fi is great too. Getting a good signal on a mobile is possible, but can be tricky inside the cottage, so using emails or face time are a good alternative. Parking for your car is nice and close to the cottage door and travelling to Keswick, Penrith, Glenridding takes no more than about 30 minutes. A large supermarket can easily be reached in Penrith and there are some lovely shops to visit in Keswick. There are pubs and eating places that can be reached fairly quickly by car and seating is outside to sit and relax. The price for the cottage stays the same all year round and is very reasonable. A perfect and relaxing base for visiting the Lakes from.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Thank you we are delighted when our guests enjoy the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete B
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A very friendly and warm welcome from Joyce, who also supplied us with a home made carrot cake, sadly we didn't eat all of it as neither of us are big "cake eaters" but what we did eat was lovely. The location is far from the beaten track but very peaceful and relaxing with some stunning views, we loved every minute of our stay and would definitely recommend a visit to this lovely and secluded place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us you were great guests and we would love to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week with high winds and rain but the cottage is warm and snug and we have been made to feel very welcome. The only down side for me personally is that being six foot , at the beginning I kept banging my head on the low beams and doors. We have enjoyed our stay and would come again. PS. we have a springer and he loved it too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
I am very sorry that our visitor had a problem with our low beam like many Lake District homes we do have one low beam which I feel adds to the charm of the cottage however the doors are standard height as required by building regulations.I am very glad they enjoyed their stay and hope to se them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing