We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Main Living Room
Outside area for dining
with greenhouse for pottering and shed for bikes.
Our 1st entry in the visitors book by our very 1st guests
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KEVLID
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Second visit to property and again, wonderful. Arrived to a warm welcome with the log fire up and running and a fantastic Victoria (home made) sponge cake. Visited with my cousin from Canada, Margaret and Dave. (they loved it) also in the party my other cousin Malcolm and Karen with lovely little Jack (he loved the adventure with his new mate Ian) not forgetting us Kevin Margaret and Ian. Lots of smashing home made food, thanks to my wonderful wife (always in the kitchen) Will return. thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family get together in a nice clean property in a rural area.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thanks for your great review. The problem you had with the cooker has now been fixed, thanks for bringing to my attention. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowns
1 review
“This is a fantastic and beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay. It has lovely views of the Lakeland fells, a superb interior and lovely quaint country cottage garden. The owners were very efficient with booking etc. we even had homemade chocolate brownies on arrival. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodburner in October!
Liked least: There didn't seem to be enough hot water in the en-suite bathroom at times
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bryan L
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Totally fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Myself and my family had the most amazing time in the 2 weeks we stayed at the Old Chapel! We were greeted by a lovely light fire by the owner? And I must say such a beautiful welcome, the owners could not have been nicer? The house itself was spotless and had everything u would need for such a comfortable holiday! Hotel standard! Just what u need with children! Our little boy loved playing in the den at the top of the most amazing garden! We are returning to the old chapel for Christmas! As we just totally loved it! Thanks Fraser and Rebecca!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEVLID
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of the best we have stayed in”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Well what a excellent weekend stay in a fantastic converted chapel, with many features you would expect from a chapel but with all the mod cons you would want in a holiday home.
Property very very clean (which is not always the case having stayed in a few holiday homes over the years). Log fire easy to use and kicks out some heat. Top quality kitchen, showers and all other facilities 100% we even had access to the fruit and veg growing in the garden and green house, how nice is that. All in all a great short break. Property suitable for families, young and old and even that romantic break away from it all. Many thanks Kevin and family with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Property Features, old and new and very clean
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing