We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“San GIng stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of San Ging, Keswick

Master bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom with ensuite
Dining kitchen First floor living room with views over Bassenthwiate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Master bedroom with ensuite
Dining kitchen
First floor living room with views over Bassenthwiate
Sunroom
Ensuite bathroom
House bathroom
Twin room
Upper double bedroom
Bunk room
Utility/drying room
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San GIng stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

if you have ever seen the TV programme on Channel 4 called "Grand Designs" and ever wondered what it would be like to stay in one, well I now know.

It's a fantastic place, and everything down to the ornaments in the bedrooms adds to the place to make it homely, I thought it might be rather sterile, but it's the exact opposite.

The view from the top living room, I tried ton capture on camera many times, but failed as I just could not capture the sheer majesty of the view to be had. It was better than watching Tv to just watch the weather change over the mountain tops.

Now looking to return next year..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqness of the place
Liked least: I had to leave it.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
I wouldn't quite call it Grand Designs but it certainly is a bit different to the usual layout of a modern home, and I agree the view is better than the TV. It's almost like a Harry Potter picture! So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Will be pleased to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r00183
Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming house!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a nice a family time for three nights at Helen's house. The place is spacious and the interior is of good taste. All the equipment are new and practical. The view from the living room is excellent! Helen is very hospitable. My family was very happy. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space of the house and the interior design
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth T
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Accomodation, Great Location!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this house. It was easy to book directly with the owner and she was available for any queries throughout the booking process and during our stay. We found the house to be premium in every way and the outside garden/patio area was perfect on a sunny day. The accomodation is complete with everything needed for a night in and the location is prefect for everything else. The town is just a short walk away as are the nearby lakes. We stayed during the Keswick Mountain Festival and it was just prefect. Will definitely be looking to stay again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterinto...
UK
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself and a group of friends stayed at San Ging for 3 nights recently. We picked it based on previous reviews and were glad we did because they were right, its fantastic! Great location, great views and the house itself is superb. Couldn't recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you so much, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotherni...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is an upside down house to maximise the view over Keswick and Derwent Water. Built on a hillside it is on three levels. The top floor has two bedrooms at the back and the lounge at the front with a big picture window. Down a half flight of stairs is the sunroom which became the play area, and the rest of the bedrooms. Down another half flight is the very large kitchen again with beautiful views. The whole place is very clean and very good for playing hide and seek. It worked very well for us, being four adults and four small children. Asda deliver, and there is parking for at least three cars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the views
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing