We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
301
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
301
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home made cakes guest house town centre warm welcome every afternoon full english packed lunch fantastic hosts single room home from home nothing is too much trouble quiet street bed and breakfast friendly couple excellent breakfast a wonderful place to stay beer festival
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

this was our first time staying at this B&B and we will most definitely return. It was in an excellent location near to town, our hosts were welcoming on our arrival and helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean, warm and cosy and suited our needs. Breakfast was lovely and filling and there was the offer of cake in the dining room if you wanted which was a lovely treat on returning from our walks. Well worth the money and one of the better B&Bs we have stayed in

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraBromley, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your excellent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cartwheel. We are so close to the town and although we do not have private parking there is free on street parking just outside. We try to provide a comfortable experience with a good, no nonsense home cooked breakfast and, of course, home made cake. Would love to welcome you back to The Cartwheel. Kind regards, Debra and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I had a fantastic stay at this lovely little b & b.
I was warmly welcomed by Nigel and Debra and my single room was very comfortable and well proportioned with a great view of the Skiddaw mountain range.
A lovely little breakfast to set me up for the day.
My wife booked this for me and she knows that i am very fussy about the smallest of things, breakfast quality being one but i felt very at ease here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Paul x

Room Tip: If single choose room 4.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ellietanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraBromley, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Great having you here, Paul. Glad you were comfortable and enjoyed our hospitality. We try to provide a pleasant haven for our guests, making everyone feel welcome and cared for but free to enjoy their own space. We were impressed with your winter walking skills on our high fells - we were out today and got blown around by the breeze - exhilarating! Do come and stay again next time you are in Keswick; kind regards, Debra and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Traditional guest house within walking distance of Keswick town centre, the Cartwheel is an excellent base for exploring the northern Lakes. Nigel & Debra are really excellent hosts, welcoming and interested in their guests but never intrusive. The rooms are comfortable, well decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are filling and full of good local ingredients. I have stayed at the Cartwheel several times and would recommend it to anyone looking for a value for money stay in the Lakes.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller looking for excellent value for money, Room 3 is recommended. It's a single room with a shared bathroom just down the hall but makes a great, cost effective base for walking in the northern Lakes!
Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 76PaulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraBromley, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you. hope you have recovered from your knee injury!Glad you found us good company and were comfortable at The Cartwheel - looking forward to seeing you again in the future, Kind regards, Nigel and Debra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Another great stay. Spotless accommodation, great breakfast and friendly accommodating hosts who made us feel extremely welcome, even though we were a group of 5 who arrived a little late and very tired. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraBromley, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us again and with all your friends! We enjoyed your company and are glad that you had a great weekend walking as well as in the Keswick hostelries. Hopefully we will see you all again soon; kind regards, Debra and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Lovely room and excellent shower which is just what you need after a day on the fells in the rain!
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of an excellent quality too. there is a 'drying' room which is very useful and flasks of tea made every morning for the day ahead.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JonScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraBromley, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for your great comments; we try to do the best we can for our guests, particularly our walkers, whatever the weather. Glad you enjoyed the showers - great water pressure at The Cartwheel and thanks for the breakfast comments - nothing super fancy but quality ingredients cooked well is what we aim for. Look forward to seeing you and your friends again. Kind regards, Debra and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews