We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crandy Nook

View of Walla Crag from top floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Walla Crag from top floor
Living Room Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View of Walla Crag from top floor
Living Room
Bedroom 2
Top Floor Living Area
Bathroom 1
Single Bedroom
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Living Area
Living Area
Kitchen towards Walla Crag
Dining Area
Hallway
Derwentwater
Rooftops to Bassenthwaite
Keswick Town Centre
View of Skiddaw
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jhill_198...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here with my partner and another couple for 3 nights as we were taking part in a charity challenge.

We arrived on Friday, followed the directions which were great. There is no parking outside the cottage but you get two passes for the local car park which is less than 5 minutes away. We were able to unload the car etc.

The cottage has 3 floors. A double room, single room and bathroom on the first two floors. We only used the two doubles but they were all perfectly clean with fresh linen and towels etc. the bathrooms were spotless.

The top floor consists of a well equipped kitchen and a living room. Once again everything was clean and well kept. There is a flat screen tv, blu ray etc. there is wifi but we struggled connecting and could get connection on one sofa but this wasn't a major issue really.

We easily used the kitchen to make meals which was nice and simple. They supply you with dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tea towels etc. downstairs is a utility room with a washing machine and tumble dryer which came in very handy after our challenge.

The location was perfect with easy access to the town center and local park etc.

The cottage is pet friendly with the exception of pets going in the bedrooms which wasn't a problem at all.

Overall, we all enjoyed our stay and would return. It was great value for money especially considering the location and how modern everything was.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our property and would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyRic...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious, great location but noisy..”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

As the other reviewers have said and the photos show it is spacious and very central with amazing views. You pay for the location at the weekends though, noise carries without double glazing and goes on until the early hours. Few quirks that come with the property, unusual to have 1 set of towels per bathroom - not per guest. Could do with the extra touches that competitors provide e.g. soap. The property was clean, although they have the unusual property of locking rooms if reduced occupancy and we still had to pay extra for one room to be unlocked for some floor space for a child's bed which grated somewhat. The rooms are spacious, and two bathrooms generous. Cooker knobs rubbed away so difficult to use, and deposit takes a couple of weeks & phonecalls to get returned. No wifi instructions so had to phone up. Glad to be home as with nearly 40 steps over 3 floors in the property it becomes tiring after a long days fell walking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Need to be up and down 3 floors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2013
We do have double glazing!

When it comes to the towels and ‘complimentary extras’ it’s worth pointing out that most properties to let in Keswick do not provide linen, towels, toilet rolls and a kitchen pack as they are self-catering properties. We provide these extras for the convenience of our guests and please note it’s one pack per bedroom, not bathroom.

The reason we offer reduced occupancy is so that we can offer larger properties to smaller parties but with a reduced rental price. Unfortunately we do have to lock the rooms as some guests will use the bedrooms even if they have not paid for them and we incur an extra cleaning charge as a result.

Our agents confirm that when you booked the property, you stated there were only to be 3 adults in the party however you rang on arrival querying the locked bedroom as you wanted a room for your toddler to sleep in a toddler bed! Out of good faith our agents agreed you pay £15 instead of £30 in the understanding you did not use the bed. Our agents found the bed linen to be dirty but you weren’t charged.

The Wi Fi details were in the welcome folder.

The security bond is refunded within 10 days of departure as per the booking terms and conditions and our agents advise they tell all our guests at the time of the booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeskie
Ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at Crandy Nook. Location brill however the standard of cleanliness throughout the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired and we had to contact the property agent to clean both bathrooms, the rest we had to make do with ie the cobwebs throughout, stained top covers on beds, stained carpet, cracked crockery, fused bulbs etc. The whole house is in need of a freshen up as paintwork badly marked. The access to the property isnt great either as this is via a very dark alley which i wouldnt like to attempt at night if alone. Please also note that you are unable to put the washing machine on after 6.30 pm and the bedrooms at front of house are extremely noisy. Accommodation has great potential but sadly lacking in some tlc

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2013
We are very disappointed that you have not had the experience most of our guests have had and made cause for complaint, albeit in our opinion, unjustly. We endeavour to maintain the highest standards and being the last people in the property prior to your stay, we were bewildered and upset by your damming comments. Incidentally, you do overlook the prompt attention given by our agents to the alleged cleanliness issue when it was highlighted.

We’re immensely proud of Crandy Nook and take pleasure in reading the comments in our Visitors Book each time we visit. We’re deeply offended by your “lacking in some TLC” comment. For the last 3 years, Crandy Nook has enjoyed Visit Britain Gold Award status and to achieve this, the property has to maintain the highest level of finish and cleanliness. It is inspected annually.

Carpets and the barrier matting have been updated recently and the internal paintwork is painted annually but some scuffing (“badly marked”…really?) will be inevitable in the meantime. The only carpet stain we could find is on the new barrier matting, which is there for guests to clean their footwear. The stain is the size of a two pence piece and is currently being professionally attended to.

2 of the decorative bed throws (note that these are not bed covers), have a small water-type mark on but there is no discolouration, say from food, drink or make-up. Fusing of the halogen down-lights does happen – there are 77 in the property – and we will be investing in the long life LEDs soon.

Crandy Nook is a central apartment and two of the bedrooms overlook the town centre. It would therefore be expected that during New Year there would be celebrations into the night especially as the whole of Keswick meet on the market square to welcome in the New Year together.

The “dark alley” is 25 yards from the main street which gives access to the businesses below, which are predominantly cafés and restaurants, so it’s far from sinister and unsafe, which you imply. Keswick is one of the safest towns is the country.

Finally, we don't quite see the point of your tirade including comment on not being able to use the washing machine in the evening – we’re only thinking of our neighbours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcrump
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent place to stay in the centre of Keswick”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Excellent place to stay in the centre of Keswick. Facilities were very good and the beds comfortable. Impressive views from the top floor. No parking outside the place (due to it being in the centre of town) but free parking permit for a public car park a couple of minutes walk away. Access is by an alley at the back of the shops were it is possible to load and unload a car.
Very convenient for shopping and evening meals after a long day out. All in all an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing