We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property on a working farm set in a village”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Puddle Ducks passing The Nest cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Puddle Ducks passing The Nest cottage
new kitchen in The Nest New kitchen in The Nest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Our Puddle Ducks passing The Nest cottage
new kitchen in The Nest
New kitchen in The Nest
unusual Bedroom in The Nest
Bedroom in The Nest
Lounge looking through to hallway and kitchen. There is a two seater sofa and chair in the lounge.
Shower room in The Nest
Puddle ducks
Our puddle ducks
The puddle ducks again
Letting the ducks out from their 'bedroom - shed' for a morning swim  Egg collecting Mar-Oct
Barn by the entrance to the yard by the cottages
Stream and benches across the road
Looking towards Skiddaw from the stream across the road from the cottage
Bassenthwaite Lake Shore - an easy walk (about 1.75 miles there)
The stream about 30 seconds away
Skiddaw Mountain - this view is about 15/20 mins walk from The Nest
One of our chickens by the stream with the ducks
The stream side about 30 seconds from The Nest
The stream side in Spring a minute from The Nest
Skiddaw Mountain and Bassenthwaite Village - this view is about 5 mins walk away
Skiddaw in the seasons - early Spring - taken about 10-15 mins walk away
lambing time on the farm
Ducks foraging for juicy bugs and insects in the woods across the stream
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter m
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely property on a working farm set in a village”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A converted stable, perfect for two. The property is in the village near to pub and overlooking a stream and opened onto a small farm yard with ducks and chickens running around. From here we could access Keswick by car within 15mins where there are full amenities. We self caterered and the kitchen was perfect to do this. We could access walks from here and with skiddaw an obvious all day hike, without the need for the car. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. A great part of the Lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in our quaint "Nest" . It has been likened to the tardis as it is larger inside than you think!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liam M
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked the nest for a two night stay for my wife's 30th 21stapril-23rd April and we have had an amazing time , the nest was lovely and cosy couldn't of asked for a better cottage for a couples retreat , weather was perfect enjoyed some walks around buttermere lake and also braithetwaite lake with some breath taking views with trips in to keswick, Couldnt of asked for a more incredible warm friendly hosts then Alison and family made you feel welcomed the moment you arrived, even showed us the baby ducklings and allowed my wife to feed the lambs, I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone it is fantastic, hope to see you all again soon this time with our two little animals (daughter n son).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ant K
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent a great couple of nights at The Nest. Perfect for two, cosy and warm and well sited for walks in the western lakes. Owners very welcoming and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you for your good review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Nest. Look forward to booking you in again. Alison Trafford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdyys
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect hidden spot.”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This place is beautifully hidden away and is a secret little gem. The place is comfortable and helps restore you after long walks. Allison and her family are so welcoming and friendly who would do anything for you. It is a lovely central base to the Northern lakes and you are guaranteed to have a wonderful time. We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine J
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an amazing "Escape to the Country"!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had the loveliest week at The Nest enjoying the cottage and surroundings in blissfully sunny weather. The whole environment is so relaxing with the obliging host, ducks, hens, a sweet lamb, friendly dogs and a bonus stream where one can sit and relax and enjoy a drink. The Sun Inn within walking distance where we had three meals is tops too. Everything was just perfect and we were sad to leave. We would love to come again but it is a long way from Australia!
We will be recommending it to our family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing