We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant - Didn't want to come home...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of house from Front Gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from Front Gate
Front Door from the private drive Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
View of house from Front Gate
Front Door from the private drive
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Room with chairs for 12
Kitchen range style cooker, microwave, fridge, dishwasher
Kitchen with table for 6
Games room  with Piano and option of using the table tennis table
Annex room with TV
HELVELLYN BEDROOM
Has en suite bath and toilet and views to Helvellyn
HELVELLYN BEDROOM ( another angle)
Has en suite bath and toilet and views to Helvellyn
Helvellyn en-suite
Swallow room
Swallow room ( another angle)
Friars Crag Bedroom
Friars Crag en-suite
Blencathra Bedroom
It has en-suite shower and toilet
Triemain bedroom
Triemain bedroom
Triemain en-suite
Back Garden
Old Vicarage parking
Car Park area with space for  5 or more cars
Old Vicarage additional garden view
Naddle Winter
Sunset view of Helvellyn from the Old Vicarage
Thirlmere in winter
Thirlmere  nearby lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Slowjen1
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant - Didn't want to come home...”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed with a group of friends at the weekend and had a fantastic time!

The house was spacious, clean and comfortable (and had everything you could ever possibly need), but it was the views surrounding the house that were absolutely breath-taking.

Could not recommend this place more, such good value and truly a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya D
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Getaway!”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

5 couples stayed for 2 nights in Feb. We all loved it! Beautiful location, with amenities within driving distance (you probably could walk, but we drove!) Great for groups of friends, or families wanting a relaxing break away or walking holiday.
We plan to book again next year. I would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Set just off the main road from Thirlmere to Keswick, it was the perfect location. Only 2.5 mile walk into Keswick town centre and just a 10 minute walk to Castlerigg Stone Circle. The house itself had everything we needed, could not have asked for more. All the bedrooms were a good size with ensuite bathrooms, good sized kitchen and seperate dining room. Rear view to the property has Helvellyn in the back garden!!!!
At night we just sat and chatted which was perfect as there was more than enough room for the 10 of us to sit comfortably, never needed the TV or games room but it is there if you want it. Only minor issue we had was the heating needed a re-boot, but Stephen the owner talked us through how to sort.....but there were extra oil heaters and coal fires there as well,,,,,so as I said, a minor problem.
We will definately be booking this property again and I have already recommended this place to my friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of the property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenMelo...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best lakeland house we've ever stayed at.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We've just returned from half term week at the Old Vicarage. We've stayed at many houses in the Lake District over many years – some in better locations, some that are more luxurious – but this was the best by far. Three families stayed here, with teenagers, small children and dogs thrown in to the mix but the house catered brilliantly for everyone. The house is very comfortable, not so posh that you are worried walking in with muddy boots but still beautifully and aptly furnished to make you feel like you're somewhere decidedly better than home! The owners have been very thoughtful when kitting out the house, with every need catered for. The kitchen is especially well-equipped and will set the bar very high for anywhere we stay in future. We wanted for nothing and, after a hard, cold day walking the hills, the house was warm, welcoming and really well equipped for our stay. Will definitely be back and the house will be our go to place for a Lakes holiday from now on.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbob123
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous! All of us want to stay again!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I can't rate this property highly enough! Stayed with a large group of friends (12 people in total) for a birthday celebration - everyone loved it and wants to go back again soon. Absolutely loads of space and great facilities - the 12 of us cooked together and made big meals and had more than enough cooking equipment. My favourite was the huge cafetiere that made enough coffee for almost all of us! The rooms were fab and really clean, and the games room went down really well. Location-wise it was perfect for a walking weekend - we did a lovely loop walk up into the hills and back down via St John's in the Vale.
Really really fab stay, and Stephen was really helpful along all stages of booking and our stay.

Thank you for having us - we'll hopefully come back again soon :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing