We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular choice for walkers with dogs”
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #8 of 12 Quick Bites in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great pub, we visited for lunch, the food was good and decent portions.We had a table in the corner which was ideal as plenty of space for our dog to lie down out of the way. The fire was on which made it cosy. I liked the coins on the fire place, being collected for mountain rescue.
Very busy which is a good sign.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 997KarenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Been coming here 40 years and it just improves with age. Great beer, friendly pub, and world famous Hungarian goulash, doesn’t get any better than that.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cookep62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Love this place! My favourite pub in the country. Always made to feel welcome. Interesting place to see people and dogs. Good range of ales and wines. Went in for a drink after dinner a few times and nothing else really compares for that. Can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It was absolutely chokka-block. Had been many years ago, pre-Greene King. Way too many wet dogs! Still, too be expected I guess. Excellent beer, as before. Food was ok. Nice goulash and mushroom pie. Very friendly staff, but plenty of other places to try in Keswick.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Well what more can one say! The Dog and Gun is an excellent pub serving fantastic beers and local Ales, and is always busy. The famous Hungarian Ghoulash is absolutely fantastic and very highly recommended and the portions are plentiful. We will be back yet again!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AndyRat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing