We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandrapX2...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location but house needs a bit of tlc”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this house for a week with family ranging from 17 years to 76 years of age
On arriving it was a nightmare to park but we did eventually get parked outside the house but didn't move the car all week incase we couldn't get parked up again
House is very spacious with four good sized bedrooms but the stairs up to the two bedrooms in the loft are very steep . The stairs leading from the first floor bedrooms to the bathrooms are a accident waiting to happen and the older member of my family had to sleep downstairs because of this .
Kitchen was spacious but there was only two tea towels left and no oven gloves .
We were only left two towels per guest and there was no spare bedding or towels left .
The front gate was propped up against the wall and there was only one gate on the back wall . The Windows needed cleaning and there was a dead spider on one of them.
Location wise it was perfect right near the town
The house needs some tender loving care to bring it back up to date

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the town centre
Liked least: The stairs in the property were an accident waiting to happen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Jubilee Cottage - we will pass on your comments to the owner and we hope to welcome you again to one of our cottages in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
High Peak
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In need of a good overhaul”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had stayed here previously 2 and a haf years ago the house has been updated very slightly the amount of niggly things that we found rather frustrating included the followin
Poor housekeeping ie at least clean the windows
Central heating problem had us up at 3am draining taps etc to fix
Poor utensils in kitchen (2tin openers neither of which worked)
Kitchen door handle fixed with 1 screw managed to get trapped in there and had to wait for someone to open from the other side
No black bin could be located so had to leave a weeks rubbish at the back door
Gate broken off hinges leaned up against the garden wall
The electric tripped out evertime we tried to use the oven
I could go on but won,t, but would be interested to see a reply!! all in all we felt this house was just a pension pot and nobody really cared for it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition of house requiring major overhaul
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Jubilee Cottage. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the property. We do ask that guests make us aware of any problems during their stay so that we may have an opportunity to rectify any issues We have made the owner aware of these issues and she is addressing them straight away. Please be assured both the owner and ourselves at Lakes Cottage Holidays care very much about the properties we advertise for holiday let and strive to ensure that the properties are very well maintained so that guests can have the very best holiday experience.
Once again we are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keswick hotels

ruthntimM...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely cottage right in the heart of Keswick which was perfect for our family, including grandad and small children. Easy access to main street, lake and the playground up the road. The best children's playground we've seen! The beds in the cottage had just been changed and were super comfy and the cottage was lovely and warm. It was perfect for our needs. Perfect for popping back after shorter walks/trips and plenty of takeaway options on the doorstep.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walneybil...
Walney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - tired house”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked almost 12 months in advance for this large town house only 1-2 minutes walk from the main square.
The location is great, to the end of the road are a few restaurants (Thai / Chinese / Indian) and also a couple of take away places. A further 30 seconds to the left is the main market square with many pubs, cafes and shops. To the right side of the road down the main street is a very conveniently located Coop, Booths was also very close by but we never had the need to use it.
Although no parking restrictions on the street itself, finding a space is extremely difficult. The house does come with a single space at the rear of the property but is only big enough for a small car at best. My short wheel base Land Rover Defender just fit on. If you don't need to use the back door, you will gain about another 1 foot of parking space......the back door opens outwardly.
If the house is rented for a large group and you arrive in more than one car, you might have a few problems. We did find though that later in the day / early evening, some spaces did become available but you have to be ready to get in them quick. Should you need parking during the day while you intend to wait for a space, the Football ground offer full day parking for only £3 and access from there is easy through the park and over the footbridge rather than having to walk all the way around.
The first problem we had was with the keys, none seemed to work very well and at first we thought we had been given the wrong keys. A simple maintenance job was required......a bit of oil in the mechanism worked a treat and no more problems were encountered with the door.....but why couldn't the management company take care of this??
The house itself was very spacious but we all thought it was tired and needed a good refurb. The 2 double beds were uncomfortable for both couples although I realise not everybody has the same type of bed. The double bed in the rear room was held up in the middle by a small table. The double bed in the front room definitely sags to the middle.
No complaints from the younger generation that stayed in the two top rooms in the single beds.
There is a small notice at the foot of the stairs which states dogs not allowed upstairs but in the front first floor bedroom, there was clear evidence of a light coloured dog having been present. The cleaner must have been in a rush as the carpet didn't look very well hovered at all.
In the early hours of our last nights stay, we were woken several times but the radiators, air inside suggested they needed bleeding but at various times throughout the night, all I could do was get up and turn each radiator off as it made what only could be described as machine gun like noises.
None of the above spoiled the stay as we were out most of the time during our stay although if the radiator problem had occurred earlier on in the stay, that might be a bit different.
Plenty of easy and difficult walks can be started from the house with pubs close by too for a rewarding real ale once showered and changed.
We intend to stay in Keswick again for the next New Year but will not be renting this place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is outstanding for convenience
Liked least: Poor nights sleep on the uncomfortable well used beds
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you for informing us of your feedback following your stay at Jubilee Cottage.

We are pleased to hear you found the cottage spacious, enjoyed the location of the cottage and used it as a base to explore the surrounding area.

Lakes Cottage Holidays advertise that Jubilee Cottage has private parking for 1 very small car plus on street parking.

After investigating the property after your departure, we discovered that the noise coming from the radiators was due to a leak in the property. Once discovered, the leak was attended to and repaired the same day. If this has been reported during your stay, we would of made our best efforts for this to of been fixed during your stay.

We are pleased to hear that the comments raised in your review did not detract you from your stay in Keswick and Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you to another property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review of Jubilee Cottage, Keswick.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the property and enjoyed the central location to the Keswick town centre.

Thank you for recommending Jubilee Cottage!

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Jubilee Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing